Crème de la Mer Moisturising Cream Review

The winter months here were wreaking havoc on my skin, and I was really annoyed. My Shiseido products weren’t working and I was puzzled because they have never let me down. Normally, I have combination skin with a manageable oily T-zone, but when winter came, the oil production went into overdrive. My makeup was coming off so easily because of the oil slick and strangely, when I tried to blot the excess oil off, I was left with dry, flaky, angry red patches. My husband is usually very diplomatic and as with all men, he tries to be politically correct when it comes to answering beauty- or fat-related questions. During the last months of winter, even he admitted that my skin wasn’t behaving.

I went to skincare counters and asked for help for ‘combination skin with simultaneously oily and dry patches’ and no one had anything to offer. It sounded like I needed a miracle, when sales people weren’t pushing items in the shopping cart of a woman who was incredibly eager to buy.

So……I bought a miracle.

Crème de la Mer moisturising cream

I wasn’t about to spend £92 for the smallest bottle of moisturising cream from Crème de la Mer. So I went on eBay and bought a sample off a reliable seller. I paid about £17, including postage. It made sense to test the product out thoroughly before committing huge amounts of cash on a touted miracle that might not work on me.

I used the cream for two months, only at night, and each time, I followed the instructions to warm a really small amount of the cream in my hands before patting it gently on my face. I absolutely hate floral smells in cosmetic products; the cream had a subtle floral fragrance to it, which was surprisingly very pleasant and calming. The cream felt incredibly light on my skin and at first I thought I was going to have dry patches because of that. But no, it was moisturising and I didn’t feel like my face was going to crack (you know that feeling you get when you don’t moisturise) if I so much as moved a muscle. After two months, I knew that it was a miracle, not so much for reducing wrinkles as what others have observed, but for getting rid of that crazy skin problem I had. I now have more even skin tone and my skin isn’t as crazy/oily/dry as before.

The problem came when the weather grew hot and humid, rather suddenly, and the cream was too thick for me in this climate. I had very minor breakouts on my forehead and cheeks, and have now switched to a much lighter moisturiser for summer.

I will be getting my supplies when the weather turns cold and dry, but I would probably still go for the sample sizes because the product has a limited shelf-life. With my low usage, it would make sense to buy only when I need it. Besides, the sample lasted me two months, and I still have at least a-third of the bottle left, so the full-sized product isn’t necessary.

I wouldn’t go as far as to say that La Mer is the mother of all creams. It has certainly solved my skin problem, thankfully (!), but was only suitable for me during dry, winter months. Many other users raved about its benefits, even when they used it during summer. I would advise getting a sample off eBay and trying it out, before splurging on the full-sized ones. And if it works for you like it has worked for me, I think it’s money well-spent (least for the samples!).

Read all my beauty reviews here.

1 Response to “Crème de la Mer Moisturising Cream Review”



  1. 1 My Beauty Staple for Summer! « The Pleasure Monger Trackback on July 24, 2010 at 5:01 pm

Leave a Reply

About The Author
Join Our Facebook Fan Page Follow Us On Twitter Follow Me on Pinterest
Read about my food-gasmic adventures in San Sebastian here! Also please come by and check out the prettiest cake I've made over here!
Macarons: Be Inspired
Dark Chocolate & Coconut Cookies
Rose & Lychee Chiffon Cake
Pan-seared scallops, jamon iberico chip, pomme puree, jamon iberico foam and chestnut
Red Velvet Cake
An English-themed Dessert Table
Chocolate & Hazelnut Salted Caramel Cake
Gula Melaka Salted Caramel Buttercream Macarons
The Ispahan Cake
The Ispahan
Sunflower Seed Macarons with Black Truffle Salted White Chocolate Ganache
Lemon Cupcakes with Lime & Ginger Whipped Cream
Portuguese Egg Tarts
Ba Zhang - Glutinous Rice Dumplings with Braised Pork Belly
The Fat Duck
Strawberry and Cream Pancakes
Pandan Souffle Roll with Toasted Coconut Whipped Cream
Red Velvet Cake
Lychee and Emperor's Seven Treasures tea-infused macarons
M's Spanish Paella
M's birthday cake - Japanese Cheesecake with Rose Whipped Cream
Lor Bak Gou - Fried Radish Cake
Pandan Chiffon Cake
Homemade Scones
Marmite & Coffee Pork Chops
Quick and Easy fried rice recipe!
Matcha & Adzuki Bean Macarons
Pumpkin & Chocolate Brownies with Cream Cheese Swirls
Matcha, Milo and Plain Polvorons
Kampar Chicken Biscuits - A popular Malaysian snack
White Chocolate & Cranberry Cookies
Hustling the Xiao Long Bao in my kitchen
Bailey's & Coffee Macarons

I Want To Know About

Said and Done

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 854 other followers

Seen and Heard

  • 960,065 hits

Copyright Notice

© Rachel Tan and The Pleasure Monger, 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of material on this blog without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Rachel Tan and The Pleasure Monger with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 854 other followers

