Magic In The Wok, Bliss In My Belly

I first heard of Magic Wok, when I visited then-boyfriend-now-husband M, five years ago in London. A bunch of his friends were due for a dinner together, some flew in from Singapore, Magic Wok was literally right across the street where M stayed, I was at the right place at the right time, and that’s how I came to looooove the food at Magic Wok.

I’ve got to admit that I was very, very unimpressed with the name of this restaurant. I mean, how much more kitsch can you get in an ang moh country, where restaurants are named Mr. Wu, Emperor, Empire, Inn something, Palace something, not unlike badly translated subtitles in a Stephen Chow food movie. But, M and his friends are prolific foodies, so who am I to question their choice for a dinner venue?

It was a good thing I held my tongue. I didn’t have to try hard, really. The good food did a brilliant job in shutting my trap and this is one helluva place to eat without feeling the pinch.

Since then, M and I have made Magic Wok the place to go to when we feel 1) hungry, 2) stressed, 3) cheap or 4) all of the above. It was number 4 for us last week.

Magic Wok London

We decided to try something different and M ordered steamed prawns with their super addictive soy sauce concoction. I don’t really know what they put in there, but it’s kinda sweet, savoury, spicy, garlic-y, and if you have paid enough visits to Chinese restaurants here, this is the same sauce they serve with steamed scallops. I love that sauce. If you live in London, and you haven’t been to Billingsgate, you will also know that prawns are dwarfed and disgustingly puny here. Having been away from Singapore for almost a year, seeing a large prawn makes me hyperventilate.

Magic Wok London

Of course, M is healthy and I am not. But I want to be, so I had my share of greens, our usual choice of kai lan stir-fried in garlic. I quite like it.

Magic Wok London

And….this is the very drug that placates us, what we always come for. Roast duck. Tender, succulent, moist, fatty enough, very seductive with its reddish-brown skin and trumps Four Seasons, hands down. I’m not kidding. There’s nothing quite like sinking your angst-ridden teeth into a piece of Magic Wok’s roast duck, nestled lovingly in a mouthful of hot, fluffy rice, and then thinking that life is actually going to be okay. I think that’s where the Magic is, to make M and I feel better on a bad day.

Magic Wok London

Have I also mentioned that Jimmy Choo (yes that famous shoe guy!) was eating at a table next to ours on one occasion, and from his conversation with the manager, we knew that he was a regular. If a roast duck from Magic Wok is fit for him, it can’t be too shabby, can it?

Check out my other food adventures.

Magic Wok is located at:

100 Queensway, London W2 3RR

2 Responses to “Magic In The Wok, Bliss In My Belly”


  1. 1 foodtable June 28, 2010 at 8:10 am

    Okay, this post made me really hungry! :P


Leave a Reply

About The Author
Join Our Facebook Fan Page Follow Us On Twitter Follow Me on Pinterest
Read about my food-gasmic adventures in San Sebastian here! Also please come by and check out the prettiest cake I've made over here!
Macarons: Be Inspired
Dark Chocolate & Coconut Cookies
Rose & Lychee Chiffon Cake
Pan-seared scallops, jamon iberico chip, pomme puree, jamon iberico foam and chestnut
Red Velvet Cake
An English-themed Dessert Table
Chocolate & Hazelnut Salted Caramel Cake
Gula Melaka Salted Caramel Buttercream Macarons
The Ispahan Cake
The Ispahan
Sunflower Seed Macarons with Black Truffle Salted White Chocolate Ganache
Lemon Cupcakes with Lime & Ginger Whipped Cream
Portuguese Egg Tarts
Ba Zhang - Glutinous Rice Dumplings with Braised Pork Belly
The Fat Duck
Strawberry and Cream Pancakes
Pandan Souffle Roll with Toasted Coconut Whipped Cream
Red Velvet Cake
Lychee and Emperor's Seven Treasures tea-infused macarons
M's Spanish Paella
M's birthday cake - Japanese Cheesecake with Rose Whipped Cream
Lor Bak Gou - Fried Radish Cake
Pandan Chiffon Cake
Homemade Scones
Marmite & Coffee Pork Chops
Quick and Easy fried rice recipe!
Matcha & Adzuki Bean Macarons
Pumpkin & Chocolate Brownies with Cream Cheese Swirls
Matcha, Milo and Plain Polvorons
Kampar Chicken Biscuits - A popular Malaysian snack
White Chocolate & Cranberry Cookies
Hustling the Xiao Long Bao in my kitchen
Bailey's & Coffee Macarons

I Want To Know About

Said and Done

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 854 other followers

Seen and Heard

  • 960,065 hits

Copyright Notice

© Rachel Tan and The Pleasure Monger, 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of material on this blog without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Rachel Tan and The Pleasure Monger with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 854 other followers

