The Best Ham In The World

I never thought very much about ham. Salty, cold, sometimes slimy, what’s the big deal, right?

Right, until the day I met my Spanish friend, J.

J was in London for three months, and his mum had stocked up on all things Spanish to help him survive in UK. At the end of his stay, he had too much goodies left uneaten and lonely in his flat, so he kindly brought some for me to try. And I got soooo lucky.

Jamón ibérico de bellota

J had given me some of this ham that looked suspiciously like parma and urged me to give it a try. According to him, ‘you haven’t tasted ham until you’ve had this’. I was skeptical. I mean, parma ham is nice, but come on, even the word ‘nice’ has a limitation to its niceness, that’s why the word ‘nice’ is just….nice, if you see what I mean.

But J was spot on. He was absolutely right, no further from the truth. The ham was very, very nutty, seriously fragrant and the more I chewed on it, the more flavour it released. It was divine, unlike all that silly cured ham nonsense that we grew up with (unless you’re Spanish and you have much access to this, and if you do, I envy you!).

I remember raving about the ham to a very skeptical M. He thought I had gone mad over a stupid piece of cured meat. So I decided to prove him wrong. One day, we had a gathering, I brought M along and asked J to tell M all about pata de negra. J burst out laughing and took a good ten minutes to stop. I figured I said something wrong when he was roaring into the sixth minute, and he said that it’s pata negra (black leg), not pata de negra (leg of a black woman…). I was so embarrassed that I had gotten the name wrong. Needless to say, M was even more skeptical of the elusive ham.

I marched straight to Selfridges & Co. to get a batch of hand-carved pata de negra for M. This stuff, especially Jamón ibérico de bellota, is really expensive at about £20 for 100 grams. The black pigs (hence the name pata negra) are fed on a diet strictly made up of acorns, and this lends a much sought-after, distinct nutty flavour to the cured product. There are lower grades, coming from pigs that feed on mixed diets, and those are slightly cheaper. M was shocked at the price, and was rather reluctant to ‘eat gold’, as he puts it, but I made him have a slice immediately after I paid. You should have seen his face. It was a Eureka! moment.

I bought this for my parents and sister when they visited too, and they had the same revelations when they tasted it. I don’t indulge in this, it’s much too expensive even for food that I love, but once in a very blue moon, I do like to pop down to Selfridges to get a 100 grams of heaven. You could have it with a glass of good red, pair them up with Manchego cheese (Spanish, crumbly, hard, amazing) and get some crackers to go along with the ham, together, they make a pretty decadent snack.

I don’t know if anyone has brought this ham to Singapore, but if such a store exists, beg, borrow or steal, trust me, you have to try a slice of Jamón ibérico de bellota. You won’t regret it.

Check out my other food adventures.


7 Responses to “The Best Ham In The World”


  1. 1 Sylvia L July 6, 2010 at 5:33 pm

    I love jamón ibérico de bellota as well – guess having tasted it in Spain spoiled it for me – we can get it in the US, but somehow it seems to lack the freshness, so as much as I crave for it, I’ll have to wait until my next trip to Spain!

  2. 3 Simin September 1, 2010 at 11:15 am

    Hey babe, I finally had a taste of these yesterday! we chanced upon the Amón ibérico de bellota at Schipol airport in Amsterdam, and I remembered how you raved about them, so no matter what I told Baolong we had to buy them.

    Actually we pegged our expectations too high even before we took a bite (because i read about how heavenly they were supposed to taste from your blog), and initially it did not taste that exotic compared to normal parmas. But as you chew on the fats, you could really taste the nutty flavour released with the oils.

    I must say its really worth once-in-a-lifetime experience for average paid people like us. :p

    • 4 The Pleasure Monger September 1, 2010 at 11:35 am

      Hey Simin, glad you loved the ham! It is true that the more you chew, the more delish it gets, that’s what astounded me! Even chewing gum loses its flavour after some good amount of chewing hehe.. If you buy them again, you might want to try it on crackers with a little bit of manchego cheese, not too much because it can be very salty with the ham and cheese together. And get some red wine to go with it!! Did you get the hand-carved ones, I like them rather thin, so hand-carved is pretty good (unless the carver is horrible…), but I won’t say no to the machine-cut ones too!! You’re making me want to get a pack from Selfridges now….


  1. 1 Easy Dinner: Tomato and Basil Bruschetta « The Pleasure Monger Trackback on October 17, 2010 at 3:06 pm
  2. 2 San Sebastián: Where to Stay and What to Buy! « The Pleasure Monger Trackback on October 30, 2010 at 10:47 am
  3. 3 Always a Good Meal at Cambio de Tercio « The Pleasure Monger Trackback on March 6, 2011 at 7:21 pm

Leave a Reply

About The Author
Join Our Facebook Fan Page Follow Us On Twitter Follow Me on Pinterest
Read about my food-gasmic adventures in San Sebastian here! Also please come by and check out the prettiest cake I've made over here!
Macarons: Be Inspired
Dark Chocolate & Coconut Cookies
Rose & Lychee Chiffon Cake
Pan-seared scallops, jamon iberico chip, pomme puree, jamon iberico foam and chestnut
Red Velvet Cake
An English-themed Dessert Table
Chocolate & Hazelnut Salted Caramel Cake
Gula Melaka Salted Caramel Buttercream Macarons
The Ispahan Cake
The Ispahan
Sunflower Seed Macarons with Black Truffle Salted White Chocolate Ganache
Lemon Cupcakes with Lime & Ginger Whipped Cream
Portuguese Egg Tarts
Ba Zhang - Glutinous Rice Dumplings with Braised Pork Belly
The Fat Duck
Strawberry and Cream Pancakes
Pandan Souffle Roll with Toasted Coconut Whipped Cream
Red Velvet Cake
Lychee and Emperor's Seven Treasures tea-infused macarons
M's Spanish Paella
M's birthday cake - Japanese Cheesecake with Rose Whipped Cream
Lor Bak Gou - Fried Radish Cake
Pandan Chiffon Cake
Homemade Scones
Marmite & Coffee Pork Chops
Quick and Easy fried rice recipe!
Matcha & Adzuki Bean Macarons
Pumpkin & Chocolate Brownies with Cream Cheese Swirls
Matcha, Milo and Plain Polvorons
Kampar Chicken Biscuits - A popular Malaysian snack
White Chocolate & Cranberry Cookies
Hustling the Xiao Long Bao in my kitchen
Bailey's & Coffee Macarons

I Want To Know About

Said and Done

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 854 other followers

Seen and Heard

  • 960,870 hits

Copyright Notice

© Rachel Tan and The Pleasure Monger, 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of material on this blog without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Rachel Tan and The Pleasure Monger with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 854 other followers

