Vanilla Bean Macarons with Salted Butter Caramel Buttercream

So I started off my macaron adventures with making erm, fake  nut-free macarons. I wasn’t contented with the fact the those macarons didn’t have feet, looked rough as hell (optimists call it rustic, home-made looking) even though they tasted great. I wanted to push myself to making better macarons and went on a hunt for a good recipe for the shells. I found this on Cannelle et Vanille, the most gorgeous food blog written and developed by the very talented Aran Goyoaga.

Making real macarons is incredibly hard work. I’m used to making cupcakes, biscuits, cookies, cakes, brownies, and nothing I’ve experienced through my years of baking prepared me for this very attempt. Four hours of very prolific swearing, aching arms, hair adorned with sticky pink bits of the batter, I swore I almost cried at the end of it. Tears of frustration and tears of joy, sounds very much like giving birth, no?

Vanilla Bean Macarons with Salted Butter Caramel Buttercream

I did feel very much like a mother, scrutinising the anatomy of my newborn babies when they came out of the oven. Let me explain. My oven is smaller than what would have been suitable for making tonnes of macaron shells, and my baking trays are small-ish too. I had to bake all those cute little rounds in a crazy number of batches, couple this with my lack of experience, I took four bloody hours to finish making these macarons. But this was good too, because I had a number of batches to play with, this meant that I could adjust baking times, and think about what went wrong with each batch, and learn from my mistakes pronto. My first batch was underbaked so they looked a bit pale (kinda fleshy pink), and the fact that they had nipples *giggles* suggested that macaronage had not gone far enough. Very frustrating for me because I am the most sedentary person and my arms were already aching badly from the macaronage, but the fact that little pale boobies came out of my oven for the first batch made me laugh. Yes I’m very childish….

Vanilla Bean Macarons with Salted Butter Caramel Buttercream

So I cheated for the second batch, and mixed the macaron batter for a while more. My arms were threatening to give up by then, but oh in the name of macarons and the ever-important learning process, I persisted. I wasn’t sure if I was allowed to mix the batter again after letting it sit exposed for a while, but oooh, it kinda worked for the other batches because the nipples disappeared! I also made sure I covered the batter with a cling film to prevent excessive exposure to air because they might dry out too soon before I could even get round to baking them in my small oven. Nobody wants unsightly cracks on macarons, do we? I also went crazy maternal when I saw little feet forming on the bottom of the macaron shells. Feet, oh precious feet!!! My babies have feet!!! Nevermind the complexion!

My hubby calmed a very excited me down for a bit before I went on to make the salted butter caramel buttercream. Mind you, I didn’t know how to make proper salted butter caramel (I made a very elementary version which tasted good but wouldn’t be called proper caramel in a pastry chef’s dictionary…) and erm, I screwed it up big time because I didn’t understand what caramel actually was. I made up my own recipe but I ended up making a solid, rock-hard ‘caramel’ out of just butter, sugar and salt. A web search led me to realise that I needed cream in the equation to make it pliable and yielding, so off to Tesco for some cream, and thank goodness, I managed to turn what was teeth-breaking candy to a velvety smooth, sexy copper-coloured salted butter caramel. Phew.

Vanilla Bean Macarons with Salted Butter Caramel Buttercream

I cooled the caramel sauce down, mixed it up with butter and icing sugar, and spread the filling lovingly on my babies (have I told you they have feet?!) before attempting to take pictures that would do them justice.

Vanilla Bean Macarons with Salted Butter Caramel Buttercream

So there, my very exciting experience in making real macarons for the first time. Very frustrating, brought out the worst in me, full of mistakes I call lessons, but very very enriching and completely worth it! Because of that, I’ve gone on to make more macarons with improved recipes thanks to another fab food blogger, so stay tuned!

The recipe for the vanilla bean macaron shells is found on Cannelle et Vanille site (follow the link above), I haven’t changed anything except for the baking times. I would suggest using the different batches to test this out because it would differ with ovens.

Here’s my rogue recipe for salted butter caramel buttercream. As I made lots of mistakes while trying to correct my self-made recipe, I tried my best to record what I did to rescue it in the mayhem, and erm, I hope I did it as accurately as I should have and I sure hope it works for you too! I also made this the caramel sauce a little saltier as I wanted to add it to butter and icing sugar for a well-balanced buttercream.

For the salted butter caramel sauce:

150g granulated sugar
100g unsalted butter, cubed
2 teaspoons sea salt (lower the amount of salt if you aren’t intending to make a buttercream out of it)
200ml whipping cream

1. On medium-low heat, add sugar, butter and salt to deep saucepan and stir continuously while sugar melts. Caramelise this mixture to a copper colour. Note that caramel burns extremely easily, so keep an eye on it the whole time.

2. Meanwhile, heat whipping cream until it just comes to boil and take it off the heat.

3. Remove saucepan from heat, add the hot whipping cream. The caramel will splatter (very vigorously, I burnt myself in the process!), so you might want to wear oven mitts and definitely lean as far away as you can from all the action. Stir the mixture continuously until well-combined to a smooth sauce.

4. Cool caramel sauce at room temperature, and at this point, you can store the sauce in the fridge. I kept the leftover sauce in the fridge for two weeks (cling wrapped the bowl), and it was fine. Whenever I wanted to drizzle it over ice cream, or use it for baking, I take a portion out to room temperature and let it soften to a more workable state.

For the salted butter caramel buttercream:

150g unsalted butter, softened
25g icing sugar
2-4 tablespoons of salted butter caramel sauce, room temperature

1. Cream butter and icing sugar together.

2. Add 1 tablespoon of salted butter caramel sauce at a time, until you get the desired taste without making the buttercream too runny. I recall that I used about 3 tablespoons, but again this would depend on the temperature and humidity of your location. So add the sauce slowly and taste it as you go, stop when you’re happy or before the buttercream gets runnier than it should be.

If you love macarons, join me on my macaron journey.

Check out what I have been baking in my own kitchen.

Also check out my other food adventures.

*Updated: This post is featured on Photograzing. Check out my Photograzing profile to see my other featured posts!

 

 

 

 

 

12 Responses to “Vanilla Bean Macarons with Salted Butter Caramel Buttercream”


  1. 1 verena July 20, 2010 at 1:27 am

    Hi Rachel,

    I was brought to your blog site by a friend whom I got to know through Bridal Veil =) I like reading your blog; very detailed and funny at times. You write well I must say =)

    Anyway, just wondering how you manage to cope with your PhD (I’m about to embark on mine, albeit in NUS) and do so much cooking/baking/travelling?? Very envious =) Btw, which Uni are you studying at now? From your blog entries, I reckon your studies are science-related? I used to study in King’s College London during my undergraduate days and your blog entries really brought back fond memories of those days.

    • 2 The Pleasure Monger July 20, 2010 at 9:58 am

      Hi Verena,

      Thank you for your compliments on the blog. I actually cook and bake to take away the stress that comes with doing a research degree, and I love writing too, so it’s not difficult to keep up with blogging the things I’ve done. My hubby and I travel during Christmas holidays, or Easter, during which we get a week’s break. Other times, we make very short weekend trips to countries that are less than 2 hours’ away such as Paris, Belgium, Rome, Barcelona, all within easy reach of London. Ooh, what were you studying when you were at King’s and which PhD are you doing?

      I heard that Singapore offers some good macaroons now! Not sure which ones though…been away from home for a year, but I plan to find out this trip back. Let me know if you stumble upon good ones, I would love to try them!

      • 3 verena July 21, 2010 at 1:43 am

        Hi Rachel,

        Wow…envious of your short getaways to those countries. I miss Europe! I was in KCL from 1999-2002 doing my undergrad degree in Nutrition. I have found a supervisor in S’pore who also has a keen interest in human nutrition to supervise my PhD project. I used to stay at Canterbury Hall, rented apt near Russell Sq as well as near Bayswater during my 3 years there =)

        Yes yes, I’m on a hunt for the best macaroons in Singapore. So far, Obolo tops my list. Won’t mention the really bad ones here haha. Nonetheless, nothing beats Laduree. I had the chance to try them when a fren bought some back from London and Laduree has been the benchmark ever since =p

      • 4 The Pleasure Monger July 21, 2010 at 9:01 am

        Hi Verena, we like to hang out in Russell Sq and Bayswater too (home to best roast duck!), my hubby used to stay along Queensway during his undergrad years. =) Ooh, if you ever have the chance, try Pierre Herme, they are wayyyyy better than Laduree!

  2. 5 verena July 20, 2010 at 1:28 am

    Oh btw, congrats on successfully making macaroons! I can only drool on this side of the world! I love macaroons and have been on a macaroon-hunt in Singapore for the best macaroons =)

  3. 6 foodtable July 20, 2010 at 6:35 am

    Good job! They look pretty darn good for your first time. I wouldn’t even attempt to do something this complex. I did go over to buy some macarons to eat/taste with G earlier today though. Will probably post that in a few days/weeks.

  4. 8 Joy July 24, 2010 at 6:51 pm

    I’m not sure if this will work, but during my macaron making class, the trainer actually mentioned that after you piped the shells, slam the tray on the table a few times. This will at least ensure that they spread out slightly and not have any excess at the top, thus causing “nipples” to form!


  1. 1 Don’t Be Afraid To Make Macarons « The Pleasure Monger Trackback on July 20, 2010 at 10:41 am
  2. 2 Deep Dark Chocolate Cake with Salted Butter Caramel Buttercream « The Pleasure Monger Trackback on July 23, 2010 at 11:38 am
  3. 3 Lime & Coconut Macarons « The Pleasure Monger Trackback on September 22, 2010 at 9:20 am

Leave a Reply

About The Author
Join Our Facebook Fan Page Follow Us On Twitter Follow Me on Pinterest
Read about my food-gasmic adventures in San Sebastian here! Also please come by and check out the prettiest cake I've made over here!
Macarons: Be Inspired
Dark Chocolate & Coconut Cookies
Rose & Lychee Chiffon Cake
Pan-seared scallops, jamon iberico chip, pomme puree, jamon iberico foam and chestnut
Red Velvet Cake
An English-themed Dessert Table
Chocolate & Hazelnut Salted Caramel Cake
Gula Melaka Salted Caramel Buttercream Macarons
The Ispahan Cake
The Ispahan
Sunflower Seed Macarons with Black Truffle Salted White Chocolate Ganache
Lemon Cupcakes with Lime & Ginger Whipped Cream
Portuguese Egg Tarts
Ba Zhang - Glutinous Rice Dumplings with Braised Pork Belly
The Fat Duck
Strawberry and Cream Pancakes
Pandan Souffle Roll with Toasted Coconut Whipped Cream
Red Velvet Cake
Lychee and Emperor's Seven Treasures tea-infused macarons
M's Spanish Paella
M's birthday cake - Japanese Cheesecake with Rose Whipped Cream
Lor Bak Gou - Fried Radish Cake
Pandan Chiffon Cake
Homemade Scones
Marmite & Coffee Pork Chops
Quick and Easy fried rice recipe!
Matcha & Adzuki Bean Macarons
Pumpkin & Chocolate Brownies with Cream Cheese Swirls
Matcha, Milo and Plain Polvorons
Kampar Chicken Biscuits - A popular Malaysian snack
White Chocolate & Cranberry Cookies
Hustling the Xiao Long Bao in my kitchen
Bailey's & Coffee Macarons

I Want To Know About

Said and Done

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 855 other followers

Seen and Heard

  • 963,651 hits

Copyright Notice

© Rachel Tan and The Pleasure Monger, 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of material on this blog without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Rachel Tan and The Pleasure Monger with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 855 other followers

