Deep Dark Chocolate Cake with Salted Butter Caramel Buttercream

I had loads of salted butter caramel sauce left in the fridge after making macarons with them. Waste not, so I whipped up a chocolate cake according to The Hummingbird Bakery Cookbook recipe for a Brooklyn Blackout Cake, and instead of having chocolate custard as a filling between the layers, I made oodles of salted butter caramel buttercream.

Brooklyn Blackout Cake with Salted Butter Caramel Buttercream

Of course, I made sure nobody was looking over my shoulder when I packed in as much salted butter caramel sauce as humanely possible into the buttercream. Nobody needs to know how decadent this cake is, it might just spoil their appetite for all foods buttery, rich and delicious.

Brooklyn Blackout Cake with Salted Butter Caramel Buttercream

And if that wasn’t enough, because I was overzealous in making the buttercream, I ‘accidentally’ spilled some onto the top of the cake and ‘decided’ oh well, serendipity it is. Off I went, armed with my palette knife and spread the buttercream so enthusiastically, a hardcore personal trainer would have been pleased with all the arm action.

I was also very pleased that I didn’t break the cake layers up when trying to assemble them, because I always do!

When all the important cake tasks were done, I slipped off my apron, made some black tea, and invited my husband for a girly time with me out on the balcony. Don’t know if he enjoyed the girly bit, but he loved the cake, and so did our friends.

Hope you enjoy making and eating this as much as I did!

Here’s the recipe:

Deep Dark Chocolate Cake with Salted Butter Caramel Buttercream
(adapted from The Hummingbird Bakery Cookbook’s recipe for Brooklyn Blackout Cake)

For the cake:

100g unsalted butter, at room temperature
260g caster sugar
2 eggs
1/4 teaspoon vanilla paste
45g cocoa powder
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
3/4 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
a pinch of salt
170g plain flour
160ml whole milk

1. Preheat oven to 170 degrees Celsius. Line bases of two 8inch cake tins with greaseproof paper.

2. Cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy.

3. Add eggs one a time, mixing well to make sure all incorporated.

4. Beat in vanilla paste, cocoa powder, salt, baking powder, bicarbonate of soda in at slow speed until well mixed.

5. Add half the flour. Mix well. Then add all of the milk, mix well, and finish off with the remaining half of the flour. Mix everything until well combined.

6. Pour cake batter into prepared cake tins, and smooth over with a palette knife.

7. Bake in preheated oven for 25-30 min. This will depend on your oven, you don’t want to cake to be dried out.

8. Leave cakes in tin to cool slightly, and turn out onto cooling rack to cool completely before frosting.

For the salted butter caramel buttercream:

250g Icing sugar, sifted
80g unsalted butter, at room temperature
A few tablespoons of store-bought salted butter caramel sauce or home-made sauce, at room temperature

1. Beat butter and icing sugar until well mixed. Add icing sugar in portions and taste as you mix to get the desired sweetness without having the buttercream too runny to spread. You don’t have to use up all 250g of the sugar. Also remember that you will be adding salted butter caramel sauce later so you need to tweak the amounts of different ingredients added to suit your preferences.

2. Add salted butter caramel sauce, however much you want again, to get the desired taste without making the buttercream too runny to spread. Beat frosting until light and fluffy and spread to your heart’s content!

Enjoy!

Check out what I have been baking in my own kitchen.

Also check out my other food adventures.

*Updated: This post is featured on Photograzing. Check out my Photograzing profile to see my other featured posts!

8 thoughts on “Deep Dark Chocolate Cake with Salted Butter Caramel Buttercream

    1. The Pleasure Monger Post author

      lol, can’t go wrong with pairing salted caramel with chocolate! i hope my recipe for the cream works, i did it based on my experience rather than a recipe, so hope i took down notes correctly!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

