Sexy Mooncake with A Not-So-Sexy Ingredient

I’ve always loved flaky mooncakes with yam filling for all the right reasons – I mean, I adore yam (yam ice cream, orh kueh, orh nee, fried yam with nian gao) and when enrobed in a buttery, flaky, cripsy, blistered shell with salted egg yolk to boot, I go weak in the knees. To me, it’s the sexiest mooncake ever invented, so sinful, so rich and mmmm, so damn right delicious.

Park Palace Mooncakes

It was deliberated fate that I should saunter past Park Palace’s stand at the Mid-Autumn Festival fair at Takashimaya Square. Deliberated, because the flaky mooncakes on display caught my eye from where I was standing at TWG Tea’s counter, and I plotted my journey to where heaven might beckon.

Park Palace Mooncakes

I was so ready to do a taste-test and spend cash and calories on my dear flaky yam mooncakes, but oh, the lady at the counter knew that she would have me eating out of her palm if she fed me their new creation, the Golden Bean Mooncake with single salted egg yolk. Let’s just say, she was spot-on.

The Golden Bean Mooncake is filled with a sweet and savoury paste made from mung beans, the least sexy ingredients in my food dictionary (right in the alley of broccoli…). How can anything so ugly, so icky, taste so damn good in a flaky mooncake? Well, I don’t know the answer, but apparently the chefs from Park Palace do. The mooncake tasted almost like the very famous tau sar piah (豆沙饼) from Penang (which are one of my favourite tea pastries by the way) only made into a smoother (instead of a crumbly) paste and richer with the salted egg yolk in the middle. It was love at first bite, and despite the hefty price at S$52 for 4 pieces (with single yolk), and I handed over my cash very happily and got me-self two Golden Yam ones (S$49 for 4 plain ones), and two Golden Bean ones with single yolk.

Wish I could get them here in London. Ahhhhh, unrequited love.

Check out my other food adventures!

4 thoughts on “Sexy Mooncake with A Not-So-Sexy Ingredient

  1. Shinn

    You totally read my mind in this sentence “I’ve always loved flaky mooncakes with yam filling for all the right reasons – I mean, I adore yam (yam ice cream, orh kueh, orh nee, fried yam with nian gao)”. I love flaky mooncakes with yam filling in them as well!!! :)

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Sexy Mooncake with A Not-So-Sexy Ingredient « The Pleasure Monger -- Topsy.com

  3. Pingback: Making My Own Snowskin Mooncakes « The Pleasure Monger

Leave a Reply

