M’s Spanish Paella

M's Spanish Paella

Having returned from San Sebastián, we are still suffering from really severe withdrawal symptoms – think foaming-at-the-mouth bad. The trip has refuelled our love of Spain and we couldn’t stop reminiscing about the wonderful food we had in Madrid, Barcelona and of course, San Sebastián (yes yes, I’m aware I haven’t put up the pintxos post from the SS trip…will do so soon! In the meantime, enjoy my post on Arzak over here first). The symptoms got so bad, that we launched into a myriad of preparations for a pintxos candlelit dinner for two, complete with a good Spanish wine on Halloween night (no pictures because it was too dark…). And the day before, we visited Broadway Market and good ol’ Tesco to pick up some ingredients for the Spanish paella. It was a Spanish weekend, our Spanish weekend.

M's Spanish Paella

Now, I really don’t want to offend any Spanish people out there and say that our recipe is authentic. I too, cringe when someone posts a recipe and declares it ‘Authentic Singapore Noodles’ because hell, there is NO such thing as Singapore noodles….(this myth however seems to be propagated everywhere in Chinese restaurants in UK and beyond, the kind of scene that is fit for a horror movie). I would go as far as to say that whilst we have used unauthentic ways to cook this paella (apparently, a paella dish is needed, and some ingredients we used are not usually found in authentic paellas), M’s version turned out fabulous. And because it is his version, I have decided to name this dish ‘M’s Spanish Paella’.

M's Spanish Paella

Regular readers will know that M doesn’t like to follow recipes, but I did politely asked him if he could narrate what he had done as he cooked, and he obliged. So folks…..WE HAVE A RECIPE!!!! This will have to be one of my blogging achievements, to wrestle a recipe out of mysterious M.

M's Spanish Paella

M cooked enough for four people, but we were so hungry, and the paella was so darn tasty, that we could finish it in one sitting. I stopped both of us before the damage was done, as I was planning to save a portion for photos in natural light the next day (the skies are completely dark by 5-6pm these days in London, huge huge taboo for photography, or even seeing your fingers in front of you), and erm, we don’t want another jelly belly, do we?

M's Spanish Paella

M never fails to disappoint with his cooking, and again, I was very happy with what he cooked. The rice was slightly chewy and moist, and packed full of robust flavours – seafood, chicken stock, chorizo. The squid and prawns were perfectly cooked too! It was pretty hard to stop once I started.

M's Spanish Paella

Here’s the recipe:

M’s Spanish Paella

serves 4 normal people, or 2 piranhas/pigs/dinosaurs

100g squid, gutted, cleaned and sliced into rings
100g prawns, shelled, cleaned and halved
125g smoked streaky bacon, sliced
100g chorizo, cut into chunks
1/2 bulb garlic (probably 4-6 cloves)
250g paella rice
Chicken stock (1 teaspoon chicken stock powder + pinch of saffron + 500ml hot water)
4 perino tomatoes, halved plus extra whole perino tomatoes to garnish
30g parsley, leaves and stems separated, and chopped
2 onions, chopped
1 red chilli, chopped
2 tablespoons olive oil
1/2 lemon

1. Heat oil in non-stick pot on medium heat.

2. Fry garlic, onion, chilli and parsley stems till onions and garlic soften.

3. Add bacon and chorizo, and fry till oil seeps out of bacon.

4. Add paella rice and chicken stock, simmer with lid closed for 20-25 minutes until all liquid is almost absorbed. This will really depend on how hot your hob is, so keep a lookout.

5. Add squid and prawns and cook further till rice is cooked. The rice should be slightly chewy and a little moist, not completely dry or too wet.

6. Garnish with parsley leaves and fresh perino tomatoes, and serve with a squeeze of lemon.

Enjoy!

P/S: We sneaked a little red wine and had some iberico ham for starters too!

Check out what’s cooking in my kitchen!

Also check out my other food adventures.

*Updated: This post has been featured on Foodgawker, Tastespotting and Foodpress. Check out my profiles on Foodgawker and Tastespotting to see my other featured posts!

Your Best Recipe

I have also submitted this recipe to Your Best Recipe (November), which is hosted by the lovely Spicie Foodie.

 

30 thoughts on “M’s Spanish Paella

  1. Tes

    I just love paella…especially with seafood. I definitely have to try this version. Your pictures are so stunning..they are successfully make me hungry!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention M’s Spanish Paella « The Pleasure Monger -- Topsy.com

  3. Nancy/SpicieFoodie

    Hi, Your Paella looks deliciosa! Your site is adorable and your photography is just beautiful. Thanks for stumbling on to my site and for your sweet comment. I do hope you join us for the next YBR roundup, which will be at the end of November. Stay tuned for the invitation announcement towards the end of the month. Have a great week:) Nancy

    Reply
  4. heavenwildfleur

    you’re one lucky girl :) having a loved one cook for you (as well as being able to cook in return for them) and enjoying food together is epitome of happy times. plus your previous post was super ‘awwwww’ hehe… goosebumps now.

    Reply
  5. janemaynard

    just wanted to let you know I featured you on FoodPress.com today – the paella looks delish and loved how you wrote about it! :)

    Reply
    1. The Pleasure Monger Post author

      Hi Jane! Thanks for featuring, yes I received wind of it when I saw readers coming in from FoodPressed! Twittered you to thank you, but here’s another big thank you again! Glad you like the post, hope to feed you with more words, and food!

      Reply
  6. Jenna

    The paella looks awesome! I grew up in Spain, and I don’t care if this is authentic or not–the pictures are incredible and I’d love to dig a spoon into it immediately. =)

    Reply
  7. Dina

    Yum!

    I love the food in Spain. Great memories of sitting at lovely little seaside cafes with the sun on my face, the smell of amazing food enveloping me, and incredible tastes in my mouth! :)

    LOVELY paella. I’ve hauled back ingredients more times than I can count! It’s all an important part of every trip to Spain, in my book!

    Reply
  8. Raelynn

    I was wondering, what is the difference between rice used in paella and rice used in risotto? can japanese short grain be used as an alternative?

    Reply
    1. The Pleasure Monger Post author

      Hi Raelynn, paella and risotto rice are medium-grain rice, whilst Japanese is short grain, you’re better off using risotto if you can’t find paella rice but it is softer and will turn out wetter than paella rice when cooked, so be sure to reduce the amount of chicken stock when you use risotto rice. Hope this helps!

      Reply
  9. TT

    M can cook Paella man! I have to admit I am not a big fan but looking at this, it looks surprisingly like Chen Fu Ji Chao Fan, with crab toppings.

    Well done M, you have now progressed to Level 2 from the days of Sweet and Sour Egg and Gong Zhai Min!

    CH, bless your stomach for I reckon you need a strong one.

    Cya soon, awaiting something like your stew when you’re back!

    TT

    Reply
    1. The Pleasure Monger Post author

      Hey TT!! Haven’t heard from you in a while! I think M has progressed till level definitely-more-than-2. And I think I just need a bigger stomach to contain all that good food. We’re going to be back in mid Dec, so see you REALLY soon!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

