Fruit in Baking: White Chocolate & Cranberry Cookies

I’m participating in the Monthly Mingle: Fruit in Baking this month. Monthly Mingle came into fruition with amazing Meeta from What’s For Lunch, Honey? and this month, it is hosted by lovely Deeba at Passionate About Baking!

White chocolate & cranberry cookies

 

I don’t usually bake with fruits, I use lots of chocolate, nuts in my recipes, you know the heavy stuff, and I’m embarrassed to say that I haven’t worked with fruits recently except for my lychee mascarpone macarons. I thought this month’s Fruit in Baking would be perfect to get cracking on some dried fruits at home. I don’t always like to go out and buy all sorts of ingredients, just to tick the boxes on recipes; I do enjoy rummaging things from my pantry and putting them together, as I try to practise a waste-not approach. Besides, it’s more practical to finish up what’s left in the pantry before running out to get even more ingredients. You see, we don’t get very much kitchen (or any) space in London.

White chocolate & cranberry cookies

My in-laws came over to London in May this year, and they brought two giant packs of dried cranberries. They were meant as health foods for us, but we can only snack on that many dried cranberries when we’re feeling peckish, so I thought it would be nice to make some white chocolate and cranberry cookies with them.

White chocolate & cranberry cookies

 

I am actually very fond of these cookies as they bring back lots of memories. When I first moved to London in 2007, I was introduced to a whole new variety of baked goods here. Waffles, cookies, biscuits, cakes, breads are done in so many permutations, done so very well and extremely cheaply that I wonder why bakeries in Singapore resort to charging exorbitant prices for good ‘fancy’ (read: those containing more than mere chocolate chips) cookies. The cost price isn’t high, but it appears that Asian countries are selling a Westernised concept to consumers; a large white chocolate and cranberry cookie may cost us only £0.50 here or even less, but it can cost up to the equivalent of £2 in Singapore. As such, I behaved like a mad woman on the loose, buying cookies from every nook and cranny in London, feasting on them without a care in the world. White chocolate and cranberry cookies were one of the goodies that I particularly enjoyed.

 

White chocolate & cranberry cookies

I like soft cookies, so I have tweaked the recipe for my chocolate chunk and flaked coconut cookies to make way for white chocolate and dried cranberries. If you like crunchy cookies, just bake them for a minute or two longer, as long as they don’t burn (they shouldn’t) and they will harden once they are completely cooled. These were very popular with my friends, I made loads, but they were snapped up very quickly. I’ve been told that these weren’t too sweet, even with the white chocolate, and the flavours worked well together!

White chocolate & cranberry cookies

White chocolate & cranberry cookies

Here’s my recipe.

Chocolate Chunks and Flaked Coconut Cookies:
(adapted from The Hummingbird Bakery Cookbook)

225g unsalted butter, room temperature
130g soft light brown sugar
170g golden caster sugar
2 medium eggs
1/2 teaspoon vanilla paste
400g plain flour, sifted
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 and 1/2 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
100g white chocolate, roughly chopped
100g dried cranberries, roughly chopped

1. Preheat oven to 170 degrees Celsius.

2. Cream butter and sugar with a handheld electric whisk until light and fluffy.

3. Add eggs, one at a time, and mix well (scrape down sides of bowl with rubber spatula after each addition to incorporate the unmixed parts). Turn the mixer down to low speed and beat in the vanilla paste.

4. Add flour, salt and bicarbonate of soda and mix well until a smooth dough is formed. Stir in the roughly chopped white chocolate and cranberries.

5. Arrange 6 tablespoon-sized drops of cookie dough on a baking tray lined with baking parchment. Ensure that these drops are spaced well apart to allow for expansion. Bake in the preheated oven for 10 minutes, or until golden brown around the edges. At this point, the cookies will be quite flat, and frighteningly soft and pliable. Leave the cookies to cool slightly on the tray before transferring the cookies onto the cooling rack.

6. You can choose to eat them while they are warm (not hot!) and wash them  down with a glass of cold milk, or have them at room temperature (they will be harder than when it is warm). M and I love the cookies warm. When the cookies have cooled completely, keep them away from cookie monsters!

White chocolate & cranberry cookies

Enjoy!

Check out what I have been baking in my own kitchen.

Also check out my other food adventures.

 

34 Responses to “Fruit in Baking: White Chocolate & Cranberry Cookies”


  1. 1 Karen November 8, 2010 at 6:25 pm

    These look delicious, and your photographs are gorgeous! I wish I could go home from work and make these cookies right this very minute, but I’m thinking I’ll definitely try this recipe sometime before Thanksgiving. :)

    • 2 The Pleasure Monger November 8, 2010 at 6:44 pm

      Hi Karen, thank you! Do try them, it’s really easy! You can tweak them around for whatever ingredients you like too, these are meant for soft cookies, but if you like them crunchier, go ahead and extend the baking time, just rem to keep a lookout for any signs of burning! Happy baking! =)

  2. 3 Hart's All Over the World November 8, 2010 at 10:40 pm

    You are a dessert artiste :-)

    I need to run 3 miles just from thinking about eating those cookies.

  3. 5 fabuleuxdestinbrenna November 8, 2010 at 11:42 pm

    I love your blog! I dream everyday I have an oven to make these delicious treats :)

  4. 7 kwanster November 9, 2010 at 12:58 pm

    gorgeous looking cookies!
    white chocolate and cranberry sounds like a killer combo!

  5. 9 perfectperfectionist November 10, 2010 at 12:14 am

    Those look amazing! I have to say, cranberries are one of my favourite fruits, they make everything that little bit more delicious.

  6. 11 miss ene November 10, 2010 at 6:23 am

    I noticed that you used 2 different types of sugar. Is this absolutely necessary? The reason I’m asking is because I have white chocolate sitting at home and your recipe looks quite perfect for me to finish them up. However, I also have all sorts of sugar sitting in tubs (castor, fine, normal, icing, etc) and lack brown sugar. Don’t wanna run out to buy YET another type of sugar! Help!

    • 12 The Pleasure Monger November 10, 2010 at 10:55 am

      I used two because I didnt have enough soft light brown. I would rather you use brown than white because brown gives flavour that white lacks. I once used only white sugar in one of my cookies and it just turned out wrong.

  7. 13 rsmacaalay November 12, 2010 at 11:24 am

    That last image looks like a cover of a cookbook! Your cookies just look really perfect. BTW I have your polvoron recipe as promised posted in my blog.

  8. 15 Sarah, Maison Cupcake November 12, 2010 at 1:15 pm

    These look so pretty, I must pull my finger out and get my Monthly Mingle post done too, thanks for the reminder!

  9. 17 pigpigscorner November 14, 2010 at 9:58 pm

    My fav combo!! £2 in SG?? Seriously?? But then again, I don’t usually eat cookies back home. Here, I just go crazy, love the soft cookies. My fav is Ben’s cookies!

  10. 19 Simin November 15, 2010 at 7:38 pm

    oohhh, i’m not a fan of white chocolate, but with dried fruits, they’re a match made in heaven!
    They look so delicious and easy to make that I set about making something similar in my kitchen. I did dried cherry and white chocolate scones. :) will post up some pics soon!

  11. 21 Deeba @ PAB November 18, 2010 at 6:56 am

    WOW…I’d snap these up in a heart beat too Rachel. Delicious and whimsical. Flavours right up my street, I ♥ these! Thank you for bringing these beauties to the Mingle…love it!!

  12. 23 Sasa November 19, 2010 at 8:14 pm

    Gorgeous blog! I’m so pleased I stumbled across it; beautiful photography and thoughtful words.

  13. 26 Sally November 26, 2010 at 6:38 am

    Thanks for the lovely recipe – I like soft cookies, they’re very indulgent.

  14. 28 Tates May 31, 2011 at 6:31 am

    Wow… The cookies seem to be very nice and delicious. I cann’t wait to have those. I try this recipe. Good informative blog.

  15. 30 Agnes September 24, 2013 at 4:14 am

    Hi Rachel! I tried baking the cookies last night but they have a bitter taste? Can you tell me what went wrong? Could it be the bicarbonate of soda? thanks! and love your blog!

    • 31 The Pleasure Monger September 24, 2013 at 7:27 am

      Hi Agnes! Yes it does sound like the bitterness comes from the soda. That’s so strange as I made this umpteen times and never had this problem…could it be a batch of soda that has gone bad? I am not sure…just suggesting.


Leave a Reply

About The Author
Join Our Facebook Fan Page Follow Us On Twitter Follow Me on Pinterest
Read about my food-gasmic adventures in San Sebastian here! Also please come by and check out the prettiest cake I've made over here!
Macarons: Be Inspired
Dark Chocolate & Coconut Cookies
Rose & Lychee Chiffon Cake
Pan-seared scallops, jamon iberico chip, pomme puree, jamon iberico foam and chestnut
Red Velvet Cake
An English-themed Dessert Table
Chocolate & Hazelnut Salted Caramel Cake
Gula Melaka Salted Caramel Buttercream Macarons
The Ispahan Cake
The Ispahan
Sunflower Seed Macarons with Black Truffle Salted White Chocolate Ganache
Lemon Cupcakes with Lime & Ginger Whipped Cream
Portuguese Egg Tarts
Ba Zhang - Glutinous Rice Dumplings with Braised Pork Belly
The Fat Duck
Strawberry and Cream Pancakes
Pandan Souffle Roll with Toasted Coconut Whipped Cream
Red Velvet Cake
Lychee and Emperor's Seven Treasures tea-infused macarons
M's Spanish Paella
M's birthday cake - Japanese Cheesecake with Rose Whipped Cream
Lor Bak Gou - Fried Radish Cake
Pandan Chiffon Cake
Homemade Scones
Marmite & Coffee Pork Chops
Quick and Easy fried rice recipe!
Matcha & Adzuki Bean Macarons
Pumpkin & Chocolate Brownies with Cream Cheese Swirls
Matcha, Milo and Plain Polvorons
Kampar Chicken Biscuits - A popular Malaysian snack
White Chocolate & Cranberry Cookies
Hustling the Xiao Long Bao in my kitchen
Bailey's & Coffee Macarons

I Want To Know About

Said and Done

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 855 other followers

Seen and Heard

  • 962,786 hits

Copyright Notice

© Rachel Tan and The Pleasure Monger, 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of material on this blog without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Rachel Tan and The Pleasure Monger with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 855 other followers

