The Elusive It

Here I am, finally done with the second draft of my dissertation, my current fashionable reason for being MIA, or so a few bloggers have quipped, for being ‘sooooo quiet’ lately. I reward myself with a little couch-warming, a spot of TV, some cheese & onion crisps and a few slivers of Iberico ham. And of  course, I turn to this little corner of mine, where I always seek solace in, to say a few words.

I just watched Julie cook her way through Julia Child’s cookbook. Julie’s life changed.

A quick sideway glance at my life and suddenly, I realise that I’m waiting for It. I don’t know what It is, but I know It will make me very happy. As I hold my breath for the brutal comments to scar my second draft, I will wait for the elusive It, and oh well, warm the couch a little more whilst waiting for some Japanese food to be delivered to moi.

Reality and dreams go so well together, don’t you think? =D

What’s your It, and has It arrived for you?

4 Responses to “The Elusive It”


  1. 1 stardust November 15, 2010 at 3:21 am

    I hope your “It” will come soon! :) Some of us go through life without knowing what’s missing or still searching..that’s what makes life so interesting! :)

    As an aside, I enjoyed the film Julia and Julia, her cookbook is on my table but haha, I am not confident of handling it! I hope you can enjoy cooking as much as Julia did! :)

  2. 3 Hart's Smiling All Over the World November 15, 2010 at 11:55 am

    My “It” is most certainly travel and I’ve definitely found it. Nothing seems to excite me more these days than the joy of planning a trip, seeing a new city, waking up to new smells and tastes and being able to photograph my journeys and share them with friends. Travel is my “It.”

    Can’t wait to hear about yours.


Leave a Reply

About The Author
Join Our Facebook Fan Page Follow Us On Twitter Follow Me on Pinterest
Read about my food-gasmic adventures in San Sebastian here! Also please come by and check out the prettiest cake I've made over here!
Macarons: Be Inspired
Dark Chocolate & Coconut Cookies
Rose & Lychee Chiffon Cake
Pan-seared scallops, jamon iberico chip, pomme puree, jamon iberico foam and chestnut
Red Velvet Cake
An English-themed Dessert Table
Chocolate & Hazelnut Salted Caramel Cake
Gula Melaka Salted Caramel Buttercream Macarons
The Ispahan Cake
The Ispahan
Sunflower Seed Macarons with Black Truffle Salted White Chocolate Ganache
Lemon Cupcakes with Lime & Ginger Whipped Cream
Portuguese Egg Tarts
Ba Zhang - Glutinous Rice Dumplings with Braised Pork Belly
The Fat Duck
Strawberry and Cream Pancakes
Pandan Souffle Roll with Toasted Coconut Whipped Cream
Red Velvet Cake
Lychee and Emperor's Seven Treasures tea-infused macarons
M's Spanish Paella
M's birthday cake - Japanese Cheesecake with Rose Whipped Cream
Lor Bak Gou - Fried Radish Cake
Pandan Chiffon Cake
Homemade Scones
Marmite & Coffee Pork Chops
Quick and Easy fried rice recipe!
Matcha & Adzuki Bean Macarons
Pumpkin & Chocolate Brownies with Cream Cheese Swirls
Matcha, Milo and Plain Polvorons
Kampar Chicken Biscuits - A popular Malaysian snack
White Chocolate & Cranberry Cookies
Hustling the Xiao Long Bao in my kitchen
Bailey's & Coffee Macarons

I Want To Know About

Said and Done

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 855 other followers

Seen and Heard

  • 963,050 hits

Copyright Notice

© Rachel Tan and The Pleasure Monger, 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of material on this blog without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Rachel Tan and The Pleasure Monger with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 855 other followers

