Matcha & Adzuki Bean Macarons

Matcha & Adzuki Bean Macarons

When the Mactweets Challenge: MacAttack #13 came around, I knew it was time to get some egg whites out and age them a little. We were warned that this was the 13th challenge, you know, the unlucky number for some, and guess what, I had a bit of an unlucky start this time! I was all ready to whip my egg whites up for Fall-themed macarons, and as luck (or the lack thereof) would have it, I spilled the aged egg whites before I could even grow feet on the macs. My clumsy hands in an over-packed fridge were very much like bulls in a china shop, I knocked the whites over, mopped up the gooey spill and mourned the tragic loss of my aged egg whites. I was ready to throw in the towel and skip this challenge but macaron gurus, Jamie from Life’s a Feast and Eunice from Heaven in a Wild Flower assured me that fresh egg whites will whip up nicely anyway. Heeding their advice, I cracked some new eggs and separated the whites from yolks. There was no looking back and I was glad that I listened to them.

Matcha & Adzuki Bean Macarons

For this month’s challenge, we were asked to create macarons that spoke of what Fall meant to us. The first thing that I thought of was a piping hot cup of Japanese green tea in my cold, cold hands! I admit I did dream about sipping on a mug of hot chocolate about two seconds after I thought about green tea, but I felt that hot chocolate was a little too much for autumn, and better appreciated in the bitter cold of winter. I had wanted to make a matcha & white chocolate mascarpone filling (which I made last month and friends loved them), but I had a tin of adzuki bean paste in the pantry, just dying to be married to matcha already. I couldn’t deny a match made in heaven, could I?

Matcha & Adzuki Bean Macarons

 

Matcha & Adzuki Bean Macarons

Whilst I am not a big fan of winter in London, I quite like autumn. Yes, most of the trees are bald in the blink of an eye, but the occasional tree is decked out in warm gold leaves that turn a seductive shade of mahogany. To me, it is the rarity of this sight that makes London very beautiful despite the cold and the ubiquitous bare trees. Regrettably so, it can get too cold to wander along the streets, and when that happens, what I love most is to curl up in my couch, with a duvet draped round my legs and a cup of hot Japanese green tea to sip on. With every cup of green tea, I also insist on having something sweet to nibble on. This is the ‘way of life’ that M and my sister-in-law, M have instilled in me. Both Ms are true connoisseurs of teatime accompaniments and I am glad that I have been well-taught.

Matcha & Adzuki Bean Macarons

 

 

Matcha & Adzuki Bean Macarons

For about two months now, I’ve been a bit obsessed with matcha, and have made cupcakes, polvorons, macarons and more cupcakes with matcha (posts to follow soon). There’s nothing I like more than having matcha-based pastries with hot green tea. The flavours are strong, yet subtle and so very alluring. Here, the sweet earthiness of adzuki beans are perfectly balanced with the bittersweet matcha & white chocolate buttercream. If you love matcha as much as I do, you might want to get cracking on these macarons in your own kitchen.

Here’s the recipe:

For the macaron shells (makes 22 shells):
(adapted from heavenwildfleur)

55g egg white (these are not aged, and will turn out a little more chewy)
3g egg white powder
45g caster sugar
70g almond flour
80g icing sugar
1 teaspoon green food colouring
Black sesame seeds

1. Preheat oven at 170 degrees Celsius.

2. Sift almond flour and icing sugar together in a bowl.

3. In a separate bowl, whisk egg whites and egg white powder till soft peaks are formed. Whisk in caster sugar until stiff peaks form.

4. To the egg white mixture, fold in dry ingredients from Step 2 in 1/3 portions to combine. Add colouring, then fold in the mixture more vigorously. Test the consistency from time to time by lifting a generous dollop of macaron paste and dropping it into the mixing bowl. If the macaron paste does not settle smoothly after 30 seconds, continue folding the paste. If the macaron paste smooths out too quickly, you’ve gone too far.

5. Pipe out the shells onto a baking sheet lined with parchment and leave them to rest for 25 minutes before baking. Sprinkle some black sesame seeds on the shell.

6. When a crust is formed, turn temperature on oven down to 140 degrees Celsius and bake for 15 minutes, turning the tray halfway through baking.

7. Cool parchment of baked shells on cooling rack. Unmould when the shells are completely cool. (I also dusted the shells with a little bit of edible gold lustre, they do give a nice sheen but they didn’t show up well on the pictures..)

For the Matcha & White Chocolate Buttercream:

55g white chocolate
40g unsalted butter
50g icing sugar
5g matcha powder (you can add more if you like a stronger flavour, as the sweetness of ready-made adzuki bean paste can differ – See ‘Assembling’ section below)

1. Melt white chocolate and butter and leave to cool.

2. Beat in icing sugar and matcha powder until well-combined and creamy.

Assembling macarons:

1. Spoon matcha cream onto one shell.

2. Add one small dollop of adzuki bean paste on top of the cream.

3. Sandwich, and you’re done!

Matcha & Adzuki Bean Macarons

Hope you enjoy making these and let me know what you think of the recipe!

If you love macarons, join me on my macaron journey. And if you can’t get enough of matcha, you might like my Lychee Chiffon Cake with Matcha Whipped Cream Frosting.

Check out what I have been baking in my own kitchen.

Also check out my other food adventures.

*Updated: This post has been featured on Foodgawker and Tastespotting. Check out my profiles on Foodgawker and Tastespotting to see my other featured posts!

 

47 Responses to “Matcha & Adzuki Bean Macarons”


  1. 1 Jamie November 23, 2010 at 4:17 pm

    Oh wow! These are just gorgeous! Oh I am so glad I pushed you to try again because these are simply perfect macs! And the color and flavors are wonderful. Really totally beautiful post and so glad you baked these with Mactweets! xo

  2. 3 lora November 23, 2010 at 4:27 pm

    These are so vibrant and beautiful.That last photo is killer.

  3. 4 tina November 23, 2010 at 4:56 pm

    green is my absolute favourite color and they look so great on your macs!! gorgeous photos!

  4. 5 HI Cookery November 23, 2010 at 5:27 pm

    Very attractive macarons–love the soft colors and taste of matcha. Great job.

  5. 7 Simin November 23, 2010 at 8:23 pm

    Babe, how long do you normally store your macs for after filling? I kept mine for 2 days in the fridge and they turned soft! :(

  6. 9 La Petite Vancouver November 23, 2010 at 9:15 pm

    Never thought of having red bean filling for matcha macaron! great idea!

  7. 12 Vy November 24, 2010 at 12:54 am

    beautiful macaroons!

  8. 14 Kavey November 24, 2010 at 11:08 am

    Just found your blog via Su-Lin’s post on the blogger lunch at PP. I was hoping to come along too but couldn’t make the date. Love your photography, really beautiful.

    • 15 The Pleasure Monger November 24, 2010 at 11:13 am

      Hi Kavey, what a shame!! Would have been nice to meet you! I’ve actually planned a Sichuan/Dongbei dinner this Friday, Su-Lin can’t make it but if you would like to join the rest of us, drop me a line and let me know!

  9. 16 Swee San November 24, 2010 at 3:43 pm

    gorgeous, and can’t go wrong with classic flavours of matcha and azuki! I’m inspired to go make a batch of it now!

  10. 17 crustabakes November 25, 2010 at 9:53 am

    Ur macarons came out perfect despite the egg whites mishap! And nothing but a warm cup of green tea on a cool fall day :)

  11. 19 Magpie November 27, 2010 at 11:56 am

    Wow! So beautiful! How did you achieve feet with fresh egg whites? I’m so jealous!

  12. 21 Joy November 28, 2010 at 11:55 am

    Beautiful, with every disc so perfect!! You are getting to be the macaron expert…not sure when I will attempt it again. The last experience was simply harrowing!

  13. 23 foodtable November 30, 2010 at 12:11 am

    Looks too pretty to eat, but I am sure they are really yummy, too!

  14. 25 cutie pie December 1, 2010 at 4:42 am

    Wow. This is magnificent. Where did you get almond flour? I went to Whole Foods in Boston and I couldn’t find any. Could you please tell me?

    • 26 The Pleasure Monger December 1, 2010 at 1:00 pm

      cutie pie: Thanks! Almond flour is just another term for ground almonds. You should be able to find them in regular grocery stores that have a well-stocked baking section. I get mine from the marts here in UK.

  15. 27 Deeba @ PAB December 1, 2010 at 10:55 am

    These are sensational my sweet friend, absolutely sensational. So glad you got convinced to try un-ages egg whites…WOW!! Your macs are the prettiest I’ve seen in a while…so soothing and calm! Thank you for joining us at MacTweets!

  16. 29 Shea M. @ Blissfully Unrefined December 1, 2010 at 4:30 pm

    Oooh, what a great combo! I love matcha (it’s amazing in brownies with some toasted pine nuts – sans chocolate), and really enjoyed adzuki bean paste when one of my Japanese classmates in college offered some candies around (she was absolutely floored that I liked it, since no one else did!). Give it another month and these would be great for Christmas (the colors are spot on!).

  17. 31 Sarah, Maison Cupcake December 2, 2010 at 12:19 pm

    I saw these in the Mactweets round up and they were one of my favourites! Wonderful pictures too.

  18. 33 Fragolina December 29, 2010 at 9:01 am

    I’ve been thinking lately of trying making macaroons at home, since now I got as a gift, a scale.. but i’m being afraid ‘coz it’s really very delicate thing. Yours look great….

  19. 35 Sweets By Vicky March 3, 2011 at 6:15 am

    I’m so glad to chance upon a blog i really enjoy reading! And your photos are gorgeous so it makes me never want to leave. :) Totally craving matcha anything right now, these are not making me feel any better sitting at my desk at work!

  20. 37 amylu7 September 8, 2011 at 5:02 pm

    I’m so jealous. I’ve tried making macarons 6 times and never once succeeded.. le sigh.

  21. 39 Doris October 4, 2011 at 2:44 pm

    Your macarons are great, Rachel. I have yet to succeed with baking French macarons after 4 attempts. The feet never appeared and they were often ‘flat’ – any advice?

  22. 41 Jasmine October 17, 2011 at 3:27 pm

    you made amazing macarons! can i check with you, if i want to make macarons say 1 week ahead, how should i store the macarons? thank you!(:

    • 42 The Pleasure Monger October 18, 2011 at 11:29 pm

      Jasmine: Thanks! Make the shells, but don’t fill them. I heard you can freeze the shells, and thaw them before filling, but I haven’t tried that, and am not sure if it works. I would say make the macarons only 1-2 days before you want to serve them, that’s tried and tested for me..

  23. 43 Abigail January 4, 2012 at 12:27 am

    Oh my word. How did you manage to make these perfect macaroon shells? I am astounded :O

  24. 45 Charmaine March 10, 2013 at 11:01 am

    They look so amazing! Where can I get egg white powder and are there any substitutes that I can use? Was wondering if cream of tartar would give the same effect as egg white powder. Thanks! (:


  1. 1 Lychee Chiffon Cake with Matcha Whipped Cream Frosting « The Pleasure Monger Trackback on January 25, 2011 at 2:59 pm

Leave a Reply

About The Author
Join Our Facebook Fan Page Follow Us On Twitter Follow Me on Pinterest
Read about my food-gasmic adventures in San Sebastian here! Also please come by and check out the prettiest cake I've made over here!
Macarons: Be Inspired
Dark Chocolate & Coconut Cookies
Rose & Lychee Chiffon Cake
Pan-seared scallops, jamon iberico chip, pomme puree, jamon iberico foam and chestnut
Red Velvet Cake
An English-themed Dessert Table
Chocolate & Hazelnut Salted Caramel Cake
Gula Melaka Salted Caramel Buttercream Macarons
The Ispahan Cake
The Ispahan
Sunflower Seed Macarons with Black Truffle Salted White Chocolate Ganache
Lemon Cupcakes with Lime & Ginger Whipped Cream
Portuguese Egg Tarts
Ba Zhang - Glutinous Rice Dumplings with Braised Pork Belly
The Fat Duck
Strawberry and Cream Pancakes
Pandan Souffle Roll with Toasted Coconut Whipped Cream
Red Velvet Cake
Lychee and Emperor's Seven Treasures tea-infused macarons
M's Spanish Paella
M's birthday cake - Japanese Cheesecake with Rose Whipped Cream
Lor Bak Gou - Fried Radish Cake
Pandan Chiffon Cake
Homemade Scones
Marmite & Coffee Pork Chops
Quick and Easy fried rice recipe!
Matcha & Adzuki Bean Macarons
Pumpkin & Chocolate Brownies with Cream Cheese Swirls
Matcha, Milo and Plain Polvorons
Kampar Chicken Biscuits - A popular Malaysian snack
White Chocolate & Cranberry Cookies
Hustling the Xiao Long Bao in my kitchen
Bailey's & Coffee Macarons

I Want To Know About

Said and Done

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 854 other followers

Seen and Heard

  • 960,891 hits

Copyright Notice

© Rachel Tan and The Pleasure Monger, 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of material on this blog without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Rachel Tan and The Pleasure Monger with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 854 other followers

