I Made My Childhood Snack: Polvorons

When I was in primary school, my dad’s friends, Uncle E and Aunt V used to haul back goodies from their annual visit to the Philippines and present a good portion of the sweets to us. Of the delicacies they have kindly gifted us, I remember two rather fondly – silvana, a frozen creamy cookie coated with savoury-sweet cookie crumbs, made by sandwiching two cashew-meringue wafers on either side of the most heavenly layer of buttercream, and polvorons. As Uncle E’s business took him to China, we haven’t been so lucky on the goodies’ front for more than a decade, and that means that I have been craving silvanas and polvorons for more than ten painful years.

I searched high and low for the recipes of these two pastries without any success. A recent trip to San Sebastian intensified the cravings for polvorons when I spotted the Spanish version which is made of lard; I much preferred the Filipino version which is made from butter and milk powder. As luck would have it, I chanced upon a Filipino food blog soon after the trip and asked the author if he could share the recipe for Filipino polvorons. He obliged very quickly, I must say, complete with a post and pictures on how one could go about making these shortbread-like pastries.

Traditionally, these polvorons are made and wrapped in cellophane paper. They are eaten chilled, and if you like the buttery and milky versions of pineapple tart pastries or shortbread, you should like this. After I spilled my obsession to my sister, she went on a rather diligent search and found that the best brand for polvorons, Goldilocks (also the one I used to have), is currently sold at Lucky Plaza in Singapore. Seeing as to how I’m going to be back in Singapore soon, I would be indulging in the real thing rather excessively and will only need to revisit this recipe on rainy days instead. But I urge you to try making this anyway, it’s easy and the ingredients are cheap. If you don’t like it, you can give them away and I tell you, someone will like this. Someone like me.

Now, onto the recipe. I was very surprised to learn that polvorons are incredibly easy to make. The ingredients are not uncommon (perhaps with the exception of a certain rice grain called pinipig, but this can be replaced by nuts and other flavours we fancy) and the only thing you really have to get your hands on is a polvoron mould. I was in luck as I bought a mooncake mould not too long ago (the spring-loaded type) to make snowskin mooncakes for Mid-Autumn this year, and the mooncake mould is similar to that for polvorons. All I had to do was to pack the mould solidly with the pastry mixture, and press the plunger to stamp them out. If you can’t find such a mould, you can use little cups or containers instead. I didn’t have cellophane paper too, so I stored them between sheets of baking parchment in an air-tight container and left them in the fridge.

I loved the cookies that came out of this. No baking is required, just a little of toasting and lots of fun packing. With minimal effort, I made a whole tray of lovely, authentic polvorons in three different flavours (plain, matcha and Milo). I loved all of them, although the Milo ones turned out a little too sweet, so you might want to cut back on the sugar for those. The polvorons were buttery, milky, and once bitten, the cookies crumbled in the only legal way a shortbread should  be allowed to crumble. The bits melt in my mouth. I was suddenly a kid again, eagerly munching on Uncle E and Aunt V’s treats minus the silvanas.  I have to warn you though, do not speak once the polvoron gets in your mouth because you don’t want to be spewing crumbs at anyone…they are that delicate!

Now, all I have to do is to get my hands on a reliable silvanas recipe…..

Here’s the recipe:

Polvorons in Three Flavours
(adapted from Ang Sarap)
Makes 18 polvorons with a 4.5-cm mould

135g plain flour, sifted
65g full-cream milk powder, sifted
120g caster sugar, sifted
75g unsalted butter, melted to yield about 90ml of liquid butter
10g matcha powder
10g Milo (you might want to cut down on Milo, or reduce the caster sugar used for the Milo portions)

1. Mix caster sugar and milk powder together in a bowl. Set aside.
2. Fry plain flour in a non-stick pan till hot, then take pan off the hear and add the milk and sugar mixture. Mix well and divide this into three portions.
3. To the first portion, add 30ml melted butter while the flour mixture is still hot, mix well and add 1 and 1/2 heaped tablespoons of the mixture to the mould, compress with your thumb to form a solid pack, and push the plunger on the mould to release the polvoron. Refrigerate the polvorons when done.
4. Take a second portion of the flour mixture and heat it slightly (not for too long, you don’t want to melt the sugar in it!). Add the matcha powder and 30ml liquid butter. Again, mix well and make the polvorons.
5. Repeat this with the third portion, this time adding Milo and 30ml liquid butter.
6. Once they are chilled, the polvorons should hold the shape very well without crumbling apart if you try to pick them up. I would say bring them out of the fridge for about 5 minutes before serving. This way, they won’t be too hard, and they should be of the perfect crumbly, melt-in-your-mouth texture.

Enjoy!

Check out what I have been baking in my own kitchen.

Also check out my other food adventures.

 

22 Responses to “I Made My Childhood Snack: Polvorons”


  1. 1 rsmacaalay December 7, 2010 at 12:31 am

    Wow this is a much better version than mine, your moulds are fancy, I hope I can find those in Asian Shops here! and what is matcha powder?

    • 2 The Pleasure Monger December 7, 2010 at 10:18 am

      Hi rsmacaalay, thank you for the recipe! Wouldn’t have been able to make this without your help! You can buy these moulds online, I got mine on eBay. Matcha is green tea and it’s used in Japanese-inspired pastries etc. It’s bitter on its own, and wonderful when paired with sweets as it gives a delightful green tea fragrance and balanced out sweetness of pastries!

  2. 3 foodtable December 7, 2010 at 7:26 am

    I think I am going to try making this when I have more time. Anything that isn’t baking is something I am interested in doing myself. I am horrible w/ baking but I love baked goods when others made them for me. Lol

    • 4 The Pleasure Monger December 7, 2010 at 10:20 am

      foodtable: This is more like a candy that has the flavours of a shortbread and a crumbly texture. I hope you like them. I did check out polvorons for sale in the States, as we can’t get them in UK. I think they do have them!

  3. 5 Apicio December 7, 2010 at 12:16 pm

    You can use a Sans Rival for making Silvanas. Instead of spreading the cashew nut meringue base on a baking sheet, you have to pipe it into the shape and sizes you like on parchment paper. Bake them for less time (since they are much smaller and will cook faster). Use the same buttercream as filling and for brushing the exterior which you then roll in a bed of sponge cake crumbs. Your own sponge cake or something bought can be sliced and lightly toasted in a slow oven to make the dusting crumbs.

  4. 6 Apicio December 7, 2010 at 12:21 pm

    Frying flour is a very tricky procedure. Try spreading the flour on a sheet of parchment-lined baking sheet and baking it at moderate heat until just lightly getting to acquire color, say between 10 and 15 minutes.

  5. 8 torviewtoronto December 7, 2010 at 6:38 pm

    beautiful texture and colours

  6. 10 leaf @ theindolentcook December 8, 2010 at 3:18 pm

    I think I may have had something like this before, though I didn’t know they were called polvorons. So delicious!

  7. 12 Jolene December 9, 2010 at 3:29 am

    Oh wow, they look lovely Rachel! I had this once in Sydney when my ex-colleague’s mum made them and brought it in for everyone and it’s really yumo! Well done you :)

  8. 14 Ju February 6, 2011 at 12:57 pm

    Exquisite! Love the simple but elegant way you presented them. Let the intricate details of the polvorons stand out, eh? :)

  9. 16 Pudding Pie Lane April 5, 2011 at 11:11 pm

    Wow, I found your blog through googling ‘strawberry and wasabi macarons’, and I’m so glad I did. I just wanted to say I think your photos are amazing and keep up the good work!

  10. 18 Sonia June 6, 2011 at 9:56 pm

    Hi there…. when searching online for bakeware shops around town, I chanced upon your blog. A quick browse on your creation drew me to your beautifully crafted polvorons! I love the idea of using moodcake spring molds. I made a mental note that next time we visit Singapore, I will definitely go hunting to buy the cutest baking gadgets I could get hold of.

    I am from the Philippines, and yes, Goldilocks is the place to buy the best polvorons in Manila, and they come in different flavours, too. Oh how I miss them now.

    I now live in Cape Town and finding ingredients from Asia, especially from the Philippines is next to impossible.

    Lovely blog you’ve got. Mind if I try some of your recipes?

    • 19 The Pleasure Monger June 15, 2011 at 9:37 pm

      Sonia: Hi and thanks for dropping by! You can actually buy the mooncake mold online, just search for it on eBay! Please feel free to try my recipes and let me know how it goes!

      • 20 Sonia July 25, 2011 at 1:35 am

        Thanks for replying. Was thinking of making polvoron this week. Will certainly try your recipe and let you know :>

  11. 21 Sonia July 27, 2011 at 10:17 am

    Hi! I had just finished making Polvorons, and oolala, they are so yummy. Thanks to your recipe. I had to improvise tho’ because matcha is not available here so I substituted with milk chocolate powder. Will surprise my son this afternoon after school


Leave a Reply

About The Author
Join Our Facebook Fan Page Follow Us On Twitter Follow Me on Pinterest
Read about my food-gasmic adventures in San Sebastian here! Also please come by and check out the prettiest cake I've made over here!
Macarons: Be Inspired
Dark Chocolate & Coconut Cookies
Rose & Lychee Chiffon Cake
Pan-seared scallops, jamon iberico chip, pomme puree, jamon iberico foam and chestnut
Red Velvet Cake
An English-themed Dessert Table
Chocolate & Hazelnut Salted Caramel Cake
Gula Melaka Salted Caramel Buttercream Macarons
The Ispahan Cake
The Ispahan
Sunflower Seed Macarons with Black Truffle Salted White Chocolate Ganache
Lemon Cupcakes with Lime & Ginger Whipped Cream
Portuguese Egg Tarts
Ba Zhang - Glutinous Rice Dumplings with Braised Pork Belly
The Fat Duck
Strawberry and Cream Pancakes
Pandan Souffle Roll with Toasted Coconut Whipped Cream
Red Velvet Cake
Lychee and Emperor's Seven Treasures tea-infused macarons
M's Spanish Paella
M's birthday cake - Japanese Cheesecake with Rose Whipped Cream
Lor Bak Gou - Fried Radish Cake
Pandan Chiffon Cake
Homemade Scones
Marmite & Coffee Pork Chops
Quick and Easy fried rice recipe!
Matcha & Adzuki Bean Macarons
Pumpkin & Chocolate Brownies with Cream Cheese Swirls
Matcha, Milo and Plain Polvorons
Kampar Chicken Biscuits - A popular Malaysian snack
White Chocolate & Cranberry Cookies
Hustling the Xiao Long Bao in my kitchen
Bailey's & Coffee Macarons

I Want To Know About

Said and Done

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 855 other followers

Seen and Heard

  • 961,856 hits

Copyright Notice

© Rachel Tan and The Pleasure Monger, 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of material on this blog without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Rachel Tan and The Pleasure Monger with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 855 other followers

