Marmite & Coffee Pork Chops

I’ve been in a bit of frenzy lately, trying to tie up loose ends on work, run tonnes of errands, and squeeze in that all-important Christmas shopping on an extremely tight budget. So even though holidays have begun for M, who has finished his exams recently, and I have been relieved of wifely duties that I’ve so diligently kept to when poor M was buried under piles of books, I have been finding it a little hard to cope with the ‘holidays’ (or not). I haven’t been cooking, or baking (except for scones and a special something that I’ve whipped up for Christmas – watch this space!), so I haven’t been able to relax very much with my hobbies. If you have been reading (thank you for coming back), you might have noticed that I have also been tardy on the blogging front for I have admittedly, lost inspiration in some ways. I haven’t said much on this, not until I have mulled things over long enough…I am contemplating to keep this blog as a private diary because I am feeling unconfident about writing, taking good food photos and embarrassed about putting up my silly stuff for the world to see, whoever ‘world’ is. Yes I am a bag of hormones sandwiched between work stress and a lack of confidence, not such a good combination right now and I’m hoping it won’t be here to stay.

As a cure, transient as it surely will be, I looked through my archives to see what I’ve done in the past few months, and there, there, I came across one of my favourite creations – Marmite and Coffee Pork Chops. So once upon a time, I was able to cook something well, I was inspired and energetic, and I was growing on the photo-taking front even though I wasn’t good at it. I was learning a lot and I liked it. But now I’m stagnant, or getting worse, because my thick head just can’t seem to pick up anything new. I think such is the difference between someone with talent and aptitude to grow, and someone who’s just a wannabe. Pffft. Allow me, the wannabe, to live in the past though…until I get out of this inertia and hopefully learn again.

Less on the emo crap, and more on the pork chops. I became obsessed with Marmite over the past few months (see this and this), and found that whilst it can be overpowering, Marmite lends a unique and subtle savoury kick that we can’t quite get with any other condiments when it is used in small quantities. One day, I had a box of pork chops waiting to be cooked properly. At that time, I had just returned to London from Singapore, and I was missing zi char (hawker style stir-fry) very badly. I also had a strange craving for coffee pork ribs. But I didn’t want to just have coffee pork. I wanted something more, something with oomph and so I decided to try making Marmite & Coffee Pork Chops instead. I haven’t seen it on zi char menus, but it may exist and some of you may have tried this. But it’s my first time experimenting with these flavours and they turned out to be a divine marriage of intense flavours. I Cleopatra-ed my pork chops, meaning that I steeped them in milk for two hours to tenderise the chops, before frying them in as little oil as I could manage to achieve a deep-fried texture (I don’t like to waste oil…). I used cornflour for a lighter, more flaky batter and it was a really good call to do so. I can also see why Cleopatra was rumoured to love soaking in milk baths; the milk made the chops impossibly tender and it’s my favourite tenderising agent now.

Instead of letting this flaky batter down by drenching the chops with the Marmite and coffee gravy, I made a thick dipping sauce instead. You can tweak the sauce to the consistency that you prefer by omitting or including the plain flour in the sauce recipe. I like my chops to be crispy, hence the dipping sauce. If you want to coat the chops all over with the sauce, you will want to take a notch down on the flavours as my dipping sauce is made to be very concentrated and may overpower your palette – go easy on the honey, Marmite, brown sugar and coffee powder!

The result? Pork chops that are crispy on the outside and so very tender on the inside, complete with savoury-sweet Marmite sauce with a deep hint of aromatic coffee – perfect with fluffy white rice! This is a dish that is here to stay in my kitchen, and I hope you will enjoy it too! If you don’t like Marmite, feel free to substitute the sauce with something else, such as tonkatsu sauce for a Japanese twist.

Here’s the recipe:

Marmite & Coffee Pork Chops

For the pork chops:
600-700g boneless pork chops (should be about 4 pieces), leave fat on
1 tablespoon shaoxing wine
500ml whole milk
1 teaspoon Marmite
10 tablespoons cornflour
2 teaspoons salt
Dash of black pepper
Sunflower oil

1. Mix wine, milk and Marmite together, set aside.
2. Tenderise pork chops using the sharp end of your knife.
3. Soak pork chops in the milk bath for 2 hours at room temperature (if you’re in a cool climate) or in the fridge overnight.
4. Squeeze pork chops to remove the excess milk, coat in batter mixture made of cornflour, salt and pepper.
5. Deep-fry in sunflower oil (I filled my saucepan with oil to about 1-2cm in height and it was enough) till pork chops turn golden brown on both sides.

Marmite & Coffee Dipping Sauce:
2 tablespoons shaoxing wine
1 tablespoon sesame oil
1 and 1/2 tablespoons Marmite
1 tablespoon honey
2 tablespoons light brown sugar
1 and 1/2 tablespoons coffee powder
2 tablespoons water
1 teaspoon plain flour

1. Heat all ingredients (except plain flour) in saucepan and stir continuously till mixture comes to boil.
2. Take saucepan off the heat and stir in plain flour to thicken the sauce.
3. Serve as a dipping sauce with the fried pork chops, white rice is a must!

Enjoy!

Check out what’s cooking in my kitchen!

Also check out my other food adventures.

22 Responses to “Marmite & Coffee Pork Chops”


  1. 1 Tes December 13, 2010 at 2:34 pm

    What an interesting combination of flavour. Your pork chop looks delicious :)

  2. 3 Simin December 13, 2010 at 4:56 pm

    Babe! I get those uninspirational moments too!! You’ve come this far, don’t give up because you really inspire many out there (like me)! Just don’t be pressured to have to produce something, unless you are trying to make it into a business. :p otherwise, it has been really fun all this while to be sharing whatever we do in the kitchen on blogosphere!

  3. 5 Brenna December 13, 2010 at 5:36 pm

    I love reading your blog and I think your photos are always gorgeous!

  4. 8 Jun December 14, 2010 at 9:55 am

    I’ve never tried this combination before. Very interesting. Your blogs are great, thanks for sharing.

  5. 10 sheismissbliss December 15, 2010 at 9:03 am

    We all have our off days….so cheer up soon ok? I love your blog and enjoy all your entries…you’ve got a fan in me :)

  6. 12 brainybairn December 15, 2010 at 10:59 am

    I am another one who gets inspired by you! In fact, I love that I can live vicariously through you through your blog. You ARE talented. It isn’t that easy to come up with multiple photos of the food one makes AND get featured. Plus, the blog traffic is phenomenal. That’s a good indication. I doubt I’d ever hit such traffic and I do have to really concentrate and take many shots before even 1 gets put on my blog. And then perhaps only a fraction ever get featured. No talent? NAH!

  7. 13 brainybairn December 15, 2010 at 11:02 am

    Oh yes, and it isn’t just about the photos either! Your prose is very engaging and makes one want to read. It is not just full of exclamation marks and repeatedly saying something is delicious or heavenly. Do write on. For the thousands of people who come every month to read your blog!

    • 14 The Pleasure Monger December 17, 2010 at 4:48 am

      brainybairn: Thank you so much for your feedback! Very few people tell me if the pictures and writing are getting better, worse etc, and it’s nice to know how I am faring, so I can retain the things that I am doing well, and improve on areas that I am not great in!

  8. 15 Joy December 18, 2010 at 3:50 pm

    Dear, please don’t turn this into a private blog…I’m definitely going to suffer from severe withdrawal symptoms if you do so! I know what you mean – you probably just hit a phase, especially when there are so many other things on your plate. But it will definitely pass, so just hang on and keep writing, shooting and cooking!

  9. 17 stardust December 20, 2010 at 2:03 pm

    Oh dear I hope you don’t turn this private, if not I won’t be able to read the nice entries on food which inspire me for lunch ><. You have very good pictures and ideas, it would be a shame to give up. I hope you can continue this lovely blog, and I love the occ. pictures on fashion too, very cool ;) Merry Christmas!

  10. 19 stardust December 20, 2010 at 2:04 pm

    I must add this recipe of coffee pork chops is a family favourite (I don’t cook it haha) and it’s nice to see it here. Hope you find good inspiration back home here!

  11. 20 Lady J January 10, 2011 at 6:35 am

    Wow.. thanks for sharing this recipe. It looks really yummy and I hope to recreate your recipe in my kitchen soon. :)

  12. 22 Pudding Pie Lane April 5, 2011 at 11:16 pm

    Hehe, I have that bowl too :)

    p.s. marmite and coffee? …gotta try that. I have the bowl so why not :P Looks really good by the way!


Leave a Reply

About The Author
Join Our Facebook Fan Page Follow Us On Twitter Follow Me on Pinterest
Read about my food-gasmic adventures in San Sebastian here! Also please come by and check out the prettiest cake I've made over here!
Macarons: Be Inspired
Dark Chocolate & Coconut Cookies
Rose & Lychee Chiffon Cake
Pan-seared scallops, jamon iberico chip, pomme puree, jamon iberico foam and chestnut
Red Velvet Cake
An English-themed Dessert Table
Chocolate & Hazelnut Salted Caramel Cake
Gula Melaka Salted Caramel Buttercream Macarons
The Ispahan Cake
The Ispahan
Sunflower Seed Macarons with Black Truffle Salted White Chocolate Ganache
Lemon Cupcakes with Lime & Ginger Whipped Cream
Portuguese Egg Tarts
Ba Zhang - Glutinous Rice Dumplings with Braised Pork Belly
The Fat Duck
Strawberry and Cream Pancakes
Pandan Souffle Roll with Toasted Coconut Whipped Cream
Red Velvet Cake
Lychee and Emperor's Seven Treasures tea-infused macarons
M's Spanish Paella
M's birthday cake - Japanese Cheesecake with Rose Whipped Cream
Lor Bak Gou - Fried Radish Cake
Pandan Chiffon Cake
Homemade Scones
Marmite & Coffee Pork Chops
Quick and Easy fried rice recipe!
Matcha & Adzuki Bean Macarons
Pumpkin & Chocolate Brownies with Cream Cheese Swirls
Matcha, Milo and Plain Polvorons
Kampar Chicken Biscuits - A popular Malaysian snack
White Chocolate & Cranberry Cookies
Hustling the Xiao Long Bao in my kitchen
Bailey's & Coffee Macarons

I Want To Know About

Said and Done

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 854 other followers

Seen and Heard

  • 959,807 hits

Copyright Notice

© Rachel Tan and The Pleasure Monger, 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of material on this blog without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Rachel Tan and The Pleasure Monger with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 854 other followers

