Sweet & Spicy Korean Pork Belly

Someone has been very, very naughty, because she has been very, very tardy with writing, and that someone would be…..me.

*Sheepish*

I have been blazing a trail in the kitchen, coming up with new recipes to play with and tinkering with my camera so much that I’ve neglected my writing. Someone motivate me, prettttttt-ay please…..because this newfound tardiness has made me unknowingly exclude you from a foolproof recipe that will sort out all your dinner troubles. I solemnly swear that you will love this recipe if you have a penchant for Korean flavours. I don’t claim to know anything about Korean cooking, so please don’t be offended, but with a tub of gochujang in hand, I find it hard not to dabble in my version of K-cooking.

Gochujang, a spicy and pungent fermented red pepper paste, is a godsend in weekday cooking. When I’m sick of doing the usual marinades or when I’m running short of time to whip up a flavoursome meal, gochujang comes to the rescue in all its feistiness. It imparts such a spicy and savoury punch to everything you smother it in – chicken thighs, pork shoulder steaks, pork belly, you name it – that it’s hard to believe you only spent half an hour on the cooking. The flavours of these dishes blow me away, and meats grilled in gochujang bring forth a hearty meal when eaten with plain rice, wrapped in iceberg lettuce etc. The possibilities are endless when cooking with gochujang, so go wild and experiment. I recommend making up a marinade with it, tasting as you progress before slathering it over raw meats, so you can tweak the flavours to your preference.

For my recipe, I introduced some sweetness into the marinade with mirin (a sweet Japanese cooking wine), brown sugar and golden syrup, all of which are really good for cooking meats. This worked really well, and M and I really enjoyed the fruits of our (barely-there) labour. Since I’m going to be out and about like a real adult in a few days’ time, I think this marinade will be my new best friend. Say hello to quick fixes for your weekday dinners!

Here’s the recipe:

Sweet & Spicy Korean Pork Belly
Makes 2-4 servings

740g pork belly, sliced to 1.5cm thick
1 tablespoon mirin
1 tablespoon brown sugar
1 tablespoon golden syrup
1 tablespoon sesame oil
3 tablespoons light soy sauce
1 tablespoon Maggi’s garlic chilli sauce
2 tablespoons gochujang
Sesame seeds for garnish
Chopped spring onion for garnish
Cooked white rice or iceberg lettuce

1. Mix ingredients for marinade and combine well. Marinate the pork belly slices for at least 15 minutes.
2. Preheat oven to 180 degrees Celsius.
3. Grill pork belly slices for 15 minutes. Turn the temperature up to 210 degrees Celsius, and grill for another 4 minutes.
4. Remove pork belly from oven, serve on rice or with iceberg lettuce, and garnish with sesame seeds and chopped spring onion.

Enjoy!

Check out what’s cooking in my kitchen!

Also check out my other food adventures.

*Updated: This post has been featured on Foodgawker and Tastespotting. Check out my profiles on Foodgawker and Tastespotting to see my other featured posts!

 

2 Responses to “Sweet & Spicy Korean Pork Belly”


  1. 1 foodtable February 24, 2011 at 8:44 pm

    Yummy! Love pork belly and love spicy food. Thanks for the recipe, I am going to try this one. Btw, I don’t think it’s bad that you took some time off. You need to take care of yourself first. Welcome back!


Leave a Reply

About The Author
Join Our Facebook Fan Page Follow Us On Twitter Follow Me on Pinterest
Read about my food-gasmic adventures in San Sebastian here! Also please come by and check out the prettiest cake I've made over here!
Macarons: Be Inspired
Dark Chocolate & Coconut Cookies
Rose & Lychee Chiffon Cake
Pan-seared scallops, jamon iberico chip, pomme puree, jamon iberico foam and chestnut
Red Velvet Cake
An English-themed Dessert Table
Chocolate & Hazelnut Salted Caramel Cake
Gula Melaka Salted Caramel Buttercream Macarons
The Ispahan Cake
The Ispahan
Sunflower Seed Macarons with Black Truffle Salted White Chocolate Ganache
Lemon Cupcakes with Lime & Ginger Whipped Cream
Portuguese Egg Tarts
Ba Zhang - Glutinous Rice Dumplings with Braised Pork Belly
The Fat Duck
Strawberry and Cream Pancakes
Pandan Souffle Roll with Toasted Coconut Whipped Cream
Red Velvet Cake
Lychee and Emperor's Seven Treasures tea-infused macarons
M's Spanish Paella
M's birthday cake - Japanese Cheesecake with Rose Whipped Cream
Lor Bak Gou - Fried Radish Cake
Pandan Chiffon Cake
Homemade Scones
Marmite & Coffee Pork Chops
Quick and Easy fried rice recipe!
Matcha & Adzuki Bean Macarons
Pumpkin & Chocolate Brownies with Cream Cheese Swirls
Matcha, Milo and Plain Polvorons
Kampar Chicken Biscuits - A popular Malaysian snack
White Chocolate & Cranberry Cookies
Hustling the Xiao Long Bao in my kitchen
Bailey's & Coffee Macarons

I Want To Know About

Said and Done

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 855 other followers

Seen and Heard

  • 963,088 hits

Copyright Notice

© Rachel Tan and The Pleasure Monger, 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of material on this blog without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Rachel Tan and The Pleasure Monger with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 855 other followers

