Photolog: Singapore Eating Spree

[Food Photolog that is not suitable for viewing if you're, well, ferociously hungry.]

I have been eating lots, but I have also been suffering from tummy upsets. It’s probably a sign that I should stop eating – but other than the 2-day hiatus I took earlier this week because I was ill, I’ve been packing the calories in since. I’m eating like I would never eat again, and it’s truly getting a little disturbing. Oh well, I’m a Singaporean and our national hobby is eating, so I’m not to blame! Besides, we can’t get all this in London; even if we do, the local food is just not in the same league. Right, I’m running out of excuses as to why I’m putting on weight, the food in Singapore is just too good to miss out. I’ll show you why.

[Some photos were taken with my DSLR, others with the iPhone because I have been rather self-conscious about whipping my DSLR out. I've invited odd stares and/or feel that my family and friends shouldn't have to put up with my 'don't touch the food until I photographed it' ways...for now at least, until I return for good. So yes, this wasn't all that I ate! =p]

We’re back in time for the onslaught of mooncakes since mid-Autumn festival is just around the corner – dropped by Raffles Hotel to pick up the very delectable champagne truffle (top) and durian (bottom) snowskin mooncakes. I also got some baked mooncakes which I honestly think are done better elsewhere. The mooncakes are rather expensive at Raffles Hotel (I splurged an obscene amount, even the staff were amused) but thumbs up for the super soft snowskin and I reckon these made for perfect gifts! I’ve been eating too much so I’m abstaining from the superb durian snowskin mooncakes from Peony Jade this year, all for the sake of the ones from Raffles Hotel! *exasperated*

After weeks of planning, I finally met up with the lovely ladies, Yann of Yannisms, Sherie of Maameemoomoo, Z of Scribbles and Snapshots  and  J of Lady J’s musings who also kindly played host to us! We made ondeh ondeh with Sherie’s guidance – check out how perky they look! I gobbled 5 of these in one sitting, and mind you, they were huge! We also feasted on mooncakes, chocolates, and Sherie’s homemade sweet potato tarts – this was right before a massive family dinner. *burps*

I wandered round Chinatown yesterday (bought nothing from Sia Huat, can you believe it?!), and stopped by Maxwell for some snacks – good ol’ Rojak and Popiah – both of which were superbly done! We had this about 2 hours before the epic dinner I tweeted about yesterday.

We chanced upon Ah Balling peanut and black sesame dumplings in Chinatown, and also had these right about 2 hours before dinner.

Moving on to Thomson Road to meet our newlywed friends, we couldn’t resist sharing youtiao (dough fritters) and Rochor soya beancurd half an hour before dinner with them.

Have I also mentioned that I was munching on Garrett Popcorn on our way to Thomson?

FYI, this was just 80% of our epic dinner yesterday at Mellben Seafood (top to bottom: Chilli crabs, crab bee hoon soup, Penang durians, mangosteens).

Salivating yet? Right, shan’t torture you with more blown-up photos. Click on the gallery below, at your own risk!

Check out my other food adventures!

12 Responses to “Photolog: Singapore Eating Spree”


  1. 1 Aimei August 26, 2011 at 12:13 pm

    Wow! *jaw dropping*

    It’s lifes pleasure!

  2. 3 Lady J August 26, 2011 at 3:37 pm

    Thanks babe for the yummy mooncakes! Loved it! :) Wow! Am jealous of all that you’ve eaten so far! YUMMY

  3. 5 plusixfive August 27, 2011 at 9:46 am

    YES I AM JEALOUS!!!!!!!

  4. 7 e August 27, 2011 at 12:51 pm

    I am hungry by just looking at the pictures! This is exactly what happen when I go back to Penang.Too little time and too many good food :)

  5. 9 Chooi August 27, 2011 at 3:43 pm

    must…not…be…envious…

  6. 11 Grace August 28, 2011 at 10:25 am

    Heya!

    I’m relocating to London in exactly 2 weeks and I’m stuffing myself silly with our local dishes too! Not sure if you’ve tried this, but I think it’s THE best prawn mee in Singapore:

    http://shiokhochiak.blogspot.com/2008/11/wah-kee-big-prawns-noodle-pek-kio.html


Leave a Reply

About The Author
Join Our Facebook Fan Page Follow Us On Twitter Follow Me on Pinterest
Read about my food-gasmic adventures in San Sebastian here! Also please come by and check out the prettiest cake I've made over here!
Macarons: Be Inspired
Dark Chocolate & Coconut Cookies
Rose & Lychee Chiffon Cake
Pan-seared scallops, jamon iberico chip, pomme puree, jamon iberico foam and chestnut
Red Velvet Cake
An English-themed Dessert Table
Chocolate & Hazelnut Salted Caramel Cake
Gula Melaka Salted Caramel Buttercream Macarons
The Ispahan Cake
The Ispahan
Sunflower Seed Macarons with Black Truffle Salted White Chocolate Ganache
Lemon Cupcakes with Lime & Ginger Whipped Cream
Portuguese Egg Tarts
Ba Zhang - Glutinous Rice Dumplings with Braised Pork Belly
The Fat Duck
Strawberry and Cream Pancakes
Pandan Souffle Roll with Toasted Coconut Whipped Cream
Red Velvet Cake
Lychee and Emperor's Seven Treasures tea-infused macarons
M's Spanish Paella
M's birthday cake - Japanese Cheesecake with Rose Whipped Cream
Lor Bak Gou - Fried Radish Cake
Pandan Chiffon Cake
Homemade Scones
Marmite & Coffee Pork Chops
Quick and Easy fried rice recipe!
Matcha & Adzuki Bean Macarons
Pumpkin & Chocolate Brownies with Cream Cheese Swirls
Matcha, Milo and Plain Polvorons
Kampar Chicken Biscuits - A popular Malaysian snack
White Chocolate & Cranberry Cookies
Hustling the Xiao Long Bao in my kitchen
Bailey's & Coffee Macarons

I Want To Know About

Said and Done

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 854 other followers

Seen and Heard

  • 960,689 hits

Copyright Notice

© Rachel Tan and The Pleasure Monger, 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of material on this blog without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Rachel Tan and The Pleasure Monger with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 854 other followers

