The Beauty of Pisa in Black & White

It was long my dream to visit the Leaning Tower of Pisa, having read so much about it during my school days when I was a teen. When M and I organised back-to-back weekend trips last spring to take advantage of the Easter weekend and the specially designated Bank holiday for the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge’s wedding, Pisa and Florence just had to be included in our holiday plans.

After a short flight to Pisa and an easily-hitched bus ride into the Piazza del Duomo, we found ourselves dwarfed by the magnificence that could only belong to the Baptistry, the Duomo and the Leaning Tower. It was a lovely sunny day, with clear blue skies setting the scene for our little rendezvous before we moved on to Florence, but as I weaved through the buildings, I couldn’t help but feel the history seeping through the very pores of my skin. I thought to myself, after all these years, finally made it here. The ancient vibes inspired me to do some black-and-white editing on some of the photos we took that day.

Tourists and touters were running amok in the ancient Piazza. Market stalls selling fridge magnets, puppets and I Love Italy memorabilia lined the entire street parallel to the trio of buildings in the Piazza, which somewhat dampened the experience a little. I did wish that we had the entire place to ourselves, even though I was one of those annoying tourists who probably bombed every single photo. But, really, silly poses and oh-please-would-you-just-get-your-ass-out-of-my-sight-I’ve-got-a-REALLY-good-angle-here aside, if you would just quieten your mind and walk hand-in-hand with your loved one through the Piazza, take a deep breath and look up into the history that you are now physically part of, it is pretty amazing.

At least it was, for us.

Check out our travel stories in Florence!

2 thoughts on “The Beauty of Pisa in Black & White

Leave a Reply

