Cornflake Caramel Drops

In one of my recent entries, I wrote about cornflake caramel drops that my cousins and I used to drool over when we were kids. It was one of the highlights of spending Chinese New Year in Penang for me, other than the fact that there were our grandparents, uncles and aunts who doted on us so much.

I was talking to M about the fun times I had during CNY in Penang, and this came up. I had misplaced the recipe that my aunt gave me and had to come up with my own for these yummy babies. The secret to my recipe is salt, as I feel it brings out the caramel flavour very well (I love salted caramels). Do try them out if you have a weakness for butter and caramel, or if you need a super-easy recipe for CNY goodies to replace the depleting stocks! Let me know how they turn out if you do try them!

Making cornflake caramel drops

You will need:

100g cornflakes
75g chopped brazil nuts or almonds, whichever you prefer

50g unsalted butter
2 tablespoons honey
2 tablespoons granulated white sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt

1. Preheat your oven to 180 degrees Celsius, and lay out mini baking cases on a baking tray. I lay them out leaving a border around them on the tray, as I find that stuff placed too close to the edges of trays tend to burn more easily.

2. Melt butter, honey, sugar in a small saucepan at low heat, stirring constantly. Once everything is melted, add salt and stir. Remove  saucepan from the heat.

3. Pour caramel over cornflakes and nuts in a large mixing bowl and mix well without crushing cornflakes.

4. Spoon mixture into mini baking cases and bake in preheated oven for 4-5 minutes. The time will depend on your oven. Test the baking time with a couple of the cornflake caramel drops before you proceed with the rest of the batch.

5. Remove baking tray from oven. At this point, you will find that the cornflakes are not quite ‘set’. Place the baking cases on cooling rack to cool completely. The cooling will help the cornflakes to ‘set’ into crunchy goodness.

6. Once cooled completely, store cornflake caramel drops in an airtight box and keep them away from compulsive eaters.

This recipe makes 50 drops (for me at least). Enjoy!

Check out what I have been baking in my own kitchen.

Also check out my other food adventures.

4 thoughts on “Cornflake Caramel Drops

  1. Pingback: Paris Luxe Eats: Henri Le Roux’s Caramel au Beurre Salé (Salted Butter Caramel) « The Pleasure Monger

  2. Pingback: Vanilla Bean Macarons with Salted Butter Caramel Buttercream « The Pleasure Monger

Leave a Reply

