Everybody Needs Some Chocolate Chip, Peanut Butter and Pecan Cookies

A lot of times, work stress gets to me, and I just need some carbo to tide me over. Something chocolatey (usually works, doesn’t it?), something that reminds me of home, something that I can whip up easily in record time.

I think the words I’m looking for here are ‘comfort food’, which are synonymous to cookies in my dictionary, really.

So what do I do? I visit one of my favourite food blogs, Smitten Kitchen, and see what Deb, my personal heroine, has to offer to soothe my wounds.

The drug of choice? Deb’s recipe for peanut butter cookies which was adapted from the Magnolia Bakery Cookbook.

I tweaked the recipe a little, made the cookies in UK measurements, and shamelessly call it Chocolate Chip, Peanut Butter and Pecan Cookies.

These are really easy and quick to make. The rate of consumption, though, is proportional to the amount of stress multiplied by the number of greedy individuals. You’ve been warned.

Chocolate chip, peanut butter and pecan cookies


Chocolate chip, peanut butter and pecan cookies

Chocolate chip, peanut butter and pecan cookies

Chocolate chip, peanut butter and pecan cookies

Chocolate Chip, Peanut Butter and Pecan Cookies
(adapted from Smitten Kitchen and Magnolia Bakery Cookbook)

1 and 1/4 cups plain flour
3/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
87.5 grams unsalted butter, softened (that’s 1/2 cup, but I’m stating grams here to be precise)
1 cup crunchy peanut butter, at room temperature
3/4 cup tbsp caster sugar
1/2 cup firmly packed light brown sugar
2 medium eggs, at room temperature
1 tbsp milk, at room temperature
1 tsp vanilla paste
1/2 cup peanut butter chips
1/2 cup chocolate chips
Handful pecans, roughly chopped
Some caster sugar for coating

1. Preheat oven to 175 degrees Celsius.

2. Combine flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt. Sift and set aside.

3. In another bowl, beat butter and peanut butter together until fluffy. Add the sugars and beat until smooth. Add the eggs and mix well, followed by milk and vanilla paste. Mix until well-combined.

4. Add the flour mixture and beat thoroughly.

5. Stir in the chocolate chips, peanut butter chips and chopped pecans.

6. Place some caster sugar on a plate. Drop the cookie dough by rounded teaspoonfuls into the sugar, coat very lightly and place them onto baking tray lined with baking parchment. Do place them several inches apart to allow for expansion. Bake for 10 to 11 minutes (depending on your oven, best to test this out with the first batch) and do not overbake.

7. Cool the cookies in the tray for 1 minute, and remove cookies to a rack to cool completely. Store in an air-tight container. (They were good for a week in my kitchen in London, but climates differ, so it’s best to eat them within a few days. Trust me, it’s not a difficult task…)

Enjoy!

Check out what I have been baking in my own kitchen.

Also check out my other food adventures.

*Updated: This post is featured on Photograzing. Check out my Photograzing profile to see my other featured posts!

One thought on “Everybody Needs Some Chocolate Chip, Peanut Butter and Pecan Cookies

  1. Pingback: The BEST Cookie..I Reckon « The Pleasure Monger

Leave a Reply

