Lime Cheesecake with Toasted Coconut Cream Cheese Frosting

I was browsing through my crazy collection of food pictures, and found this, ignored, lonely and almost forgotten in my archives. Poor, poor cupcakes, it’s time to do you some justice.

Lime cheesecake with toasted coconut cream cheese frosting

I made these in October 2008, when we had some friends over for a massive eat-until-we-concuss steamboat session. Very odd to have made cheesecake for dessert to finish off a steamboat session, but….who cares, I had a craving for them and the hostess with the mostess should have the final word! Nothing is weird, so long as you have the stomach for it, agree?

Lime cheesecake with toasted coconut cream cheese frosting

I snooped around for a lime cheesecake recipe, found one from Smitten Kitchen and tweaked it because a) I didn’t have key limes or mangoes, b) I didn’t have graham crackers, c) my baking tools are for UK measurements, and d) I wanted to make territory-friendly cupcakes instead of a whole cheesecake (you have one, she has one, I have one, nobody fights!).

Lime cheesecake with toasted coconut cream cheese frosting

I also took on Deb’s advice to add a little coconut-y twist to the recipe, and whipped up a toasted coconut cream cheese frosting to go with the cupcakes.

The end product? Take me to tropical-lala-land-malibu DIVINE!

Here’s the recipe:

Lime Cheesecake with Toasted Coconut Cream Cheese Frosting

The Crunchy Bits: Crust

142 g digestive biscuits. crushed to fine crumbs
56.5 g unsalted butter, melted

1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees Celsius and line cupcake pan with paper cases.
2. Stir together digestives crumbs and melted butter in a bowl until well-combined and press evenly onto the bottom of the paper cases (about a centimetre thick). Bake crust in middle of oven 8 minutes and cool in pan on a rack.

The Creamy Bits: Filling

460 g cream cheese, at room temperature (I insist on full-fat…)
1 cup and 2 tbsp caster sugar
3/4 cup fresh lime juice
1/2 cup sour cream
1/2 tsp vanilla
2 and 1/2 tbsp plain flour, sifted
1/4 tsp salt
5 medium eggs

1. Lower temperature on oven to 165 degree Celsius.
2. Beat cream cheese with an electric mixer until fluffy, then beat in caster sugar.
3. Add lime juice, sour cream and vanilla paste, and beat with the mixer till smooth.
4. Turn the mixer down to low speed, and mix in the sifted flour and salt. Scrape down the sides of the bowl with a spatula to ensure mixture is just combined.
5. Add eggs and mic until just combined.
6. Pour filling into crust bottoms until about 2/3-3/4 way up each case, and bake in middle of the oven until the cheesecake sets in the centre, for about 35 min (this depends on your oven). Remove cupcake pan from oven, let cool slightly in pan before removing the cupcakes to a rack to cool completely.

The Tropical Bits: Frosting

(from Crazy About Cupcakes by Krystina Castella)

56.5 g unsalted butter, at room temperature
2 cups flaked coconut
227 g cream cheese, at room temperature (again..full-fat)
2 cups icing sugar
2 tsp milk
1 tsp vanilla paste

1. Melt 2 tbsp of butter in a saucepan and stir in flaked coconut for about 8 minutes until coconut turns golden brown.
2. Beat 2 tbsp of butter with the cream cheese until smooth and creamy.
3. Add icing sugar, milk and vanilla paste slowly and beat until smooth.
4. Stir in the toasted coconut.
5. Frost cupcakes when cupcakes are completely cooled. You can top this up with more toasted coconut if you wish, which is what I did!

This recipe makes more than 12 cupcakes, I tossed the rest of the ingredients in an 8-inch baking tin and made a separate 1.5 inch-high cheesecake out of it. The baking time for this would be about 1 hour, but again, test with your oven.

Enjoy!

Check out what I have been baking in my own kitchen.

Also check out my other food adventures.

*Updated: This post is featured on Photograzing. Check out my Photograzing profile to see my other featured posts!


6 thoughts on “Lime Cheesecake with Toasted Coconut Cream Cheese Frosting

  1. Cheryl

    hey there,

    got to know of ur blog thru the forum, and your blog has been simply amazing = )

    you reminded me of all the good times that i spent in London and after you mentioned the Hummingbird Bakery book, i went straight to Kino to hunt for the book. All i have got to do now is to actually get down to the biz of baking (esp. the red velvet cupcakes).

    Do keep all the pictures coming…and your little adventures too = )

    ps: very tempted by Bridal Veil too

    Reply
    1. The Pleasure Monger Post author

      Hi Cheryl, thanks for your compliments!

      Did you live in London for a while?

      Let me know how the baking goes!!

      About BV, you can email me if you would like more details, might help your decision-making!

      Reply
  2. Cheryl

    another curry puff post!!!! = )

    i studied in London for a number of year, and i missed the place badly…. (more like i miss Portobello market, Selfridges, and all the little shops that just ‘pops’ up infront of you when you least expect it).

    trying to settle my ROM venue, and trying to get a JP (which is very very difficult, as 2 JPs turned me down).

    guess after i settled the above details, than i will start on the venue & gowns for next year = )

    Reply
    1. The Pleasure Monger Post author

      I think I know what you mean. M and I have been talking about what we might miss most when we leave….the retail part is one of them..

      All the best with wedding planning! You’ll get there!

      Reply
  3. Mary Keelan Williams

    Hi Rachel, your blog is beautiful. I love your pictures! I have a cooking website http://www.skinnydecadence.com but my pictures are nothing like yours. I’m definitely not photographer. Do you do any food photography for hire. I’m writing a cookbook and am in the process of looking for a food photographer. Send me a message at skinny decadence. Mary

    Reply
    1. The Pleasure Monger Post author

      Hi Mary, thanks for your compliments! I would love to do food photography for your cookbook but I’m based in Singapore right now and am unable to, unless we’re in the same country. Good luck for your cookbook and looking forward to reading it!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

