Daddy’s Breakfast

I was at work on Sunday morning last week, and called home to catch up with my parents while I was waiting for exciting science to happen in the lab. I speak more to Mum as she usually picks up the phone, but Mum wasn’t free, so I chatted with Dad during the short span of time I had.

It was so nice, to be able to hear his voice, to chat about anything under the sun. We never quite used to share this back home, and our relationship has become more verbal and expressive since I got here. Perhaps to make up for lost time.

When I hung up, I realised that I missed Dad terribly. So after work, right about noon, I popped into Tesco and gathered the exact ingredients I wanted. I was going to make Daddy’s breakfast for Sunday brunch.

Daddy's Breakfast

When I was a kid, Dad used to make Sunday breakfast for the family. It was something he had at his foster mum’s place when he was studying in Perth, and it was certainly a breakfast that I’ve come to love. It’s simple, delicious, and group-friendly, and most importantly, it was something that Dad had when he was a kid.

Daddy's Breakfast

When we grew older, Sunday breakfast was dropped from our habits. I usually woke up too late, so it was really my fault. On rare occasions, Dad would make that breakfast and it seemed like he made it with nostalgia and lots of love. He would put in effort in cutting every single piece of ingredient nicely. I really missed that.

Daddy's Breakfast

When we moved to London, I made it for M one day, and he loved it. I think I made it a second time, and that was it. In the almost-three years that I’m here, I’ve only made it twice. I’m glad I made it for the third time last week. I made sure I was meticulous in preparing the ingredients, just like Dad used to be. I made it with love and much nostalgia. Gosh, I really miss home.

Daddy's Breakfast

My dad had this when he was a kid, I had this when I was a kid, and I’m going to make sure that my children will have this in future too. This habit should run in the family.

There are no hard and fast rules to this recipe, but here’s a rough guide for two portions:

Daddy’s Breakfast (Bacon, Cheese and Tomatoes on Grilled Toast)

4 slices of bread, buttered and quartered
8 cherry tomatoes, halved
Cheese, cut into 16 1cm by 1cm slices (larger or smaller, depending on how salty the cheese is and whether you like cheese. I used gruyère, it was a little salty so I used unsmoked bacon with it and went easy on the cheese. You can use cheddar, or mozzarella)
16 slices of streaky bacon (or more if you like bacon)

Very simply, place a slice (or 2) of bacon on each quarter of bread. Layer it up with a halved cherry tomato and a slice of cheese. Pop it into a preheated oven at 180 degrees Celsius for 10-15 minutes, watch them as they might burn. Get them out of the oven when they’re golden brown (bacon’s cooked, cheese is melted and bubbling) and serve them with a glass of cold orange juice or tomato juice with a squeeze of lime in it.

I hope you enjoy my Daddy’s breakfast.

Check out what’s cooking in my kitchen!

Also check out my other food adventures.

One thought on “Daddy’s Breakfast

  1. elaineteo

    i’m sad that i don’t have any oven with me in my apartment, that makes lotsa dish i can’t try them! For instance this easy yet tasty daddy’s breakfast that you made! Simple breakfast, but with love. =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

