My Husband Feeds Me Good Stuff

I never have to fear that I would go hungry, thanks to my dear husband, M, who can cook really well. He’s a very intuitive cook who doesn’t need a recipe, and he makes magic out of the simplest ingredients we have at home. Name him a dish, and he whips it up for you and makes it look so effortless, it annoys me. Take for example, once, I was craving for chilli crab, but we didn’t have crab at home, so what did he do? He made a chilli crab-esque sauce to go with chicken, and the flavours went surprisingly well, and man, that sauce was authentic! And what about the spot-on-first-attempt fish & chips that he made? I don’t know how he does it, but he does.

We’re quite the opposite. I’m much better at baking, and I thrive on tweaking, analysing, more tweaking, which is probably why I chose to do a bloody degree with 178% research component, although I would very much prefer to make baking a career (if my baked goods are delish enough to sell…). It’s good that we function differently though, he keeps me burping with good meals, I seal his meal deals with dessert.

My husband cooks braised pork belly

Anyways, I had the privilege of having my hubby’s braised pork belly a month ago, and oh gaawwwd, it’s the best I’ve ever had. Trumps my mum’s (sorry mummy!), and those at restaurants. Succulent, tender, packed full of flavour, and it went so well with the Chinese buns and lettuce we bought. Home is where the heart is, and my heart is with my hubby, the amazing chef. Again, no recipes for this because argh, he doesn’t use any!!

Check out what’s cooking in my kitchen!

Also check out my other food adventures.

5 thoughts on “My Husband Feeds Me Good Stuff

  1. Joy

    OMG, that looks heavenly!! My dad and Alv absolutely cannot say no to braised pork! Give them that and they will be happy bunnies…

    Please ask your hubby to jot his recipe from memory….pretty please? LOL!😉

    Reply
  2. missene

    I almost licked my laptop screen because of that picture of braised pork belly. OMG. That looks so good, can?! It’s one of my favourite food. Slurrrrrrrp. I WANT SOME NOW!!!

    Reply
    1. The Pleasure Monger Post author

      joy: lol, i’ll have to hover around him next time he cooks, with a pen and paper in hand! he tends to just muck around, grab handfuls of stuff, throw them in a pan, add a pinch of this, a sprinkle of that, but i’ll try to take down a recipe without cramping his style! it’s really annoying me that he doesn’t use recipes because i can’t replicate the dishes….

      missene: omg, please don’t lick your screen especially if it’s the new mac! it’s one of my fave foods too, methinks we need to have it soon but M’s having finals in a fortnight, so i’ll torture him with my cooking for now.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

