Keeping My Chin Up

Life away from home as a mature student is not without troughs. Everyone else my age is at least 4-5 years into his or her career path, and here I am, still taking clumsy baby steps when everyone else is running the rat race. An email to my father in a quest for answers, wisdom and solace yields exactly that, and so much more.

It’s a wonder why I grew up, sometimes thinking that parents are wrong when they deny us a toy or permission to go out with friends, because looking back, my parents were hardly ever wrong and nearly always right. Simply because they’ve been there, done that, and the experience they had lends many lifelong lessons to be imparted to us, their children. I didn’t grow up with a privileged life, we had our fair share of hardships, but who am I to comment on this, my parents were the ones who roughed everything out for three of us, to even buy that $2 toy from the sundry shop on that very rare occasion, or let us go on the 20-cent fun ride outside the medicinal hall, of course Mum and Dad would have precious things to say about tackling obstacles in life.

‘The important thing is to keep on course, upholding the philosophy and keeping your chin up.’

Wise words indeed.

I will keep going, Dad, and I will do it on my standards, on my principles, no matter how hard it gets.

I could only wish that I’m half the person my dad or mum is.

6 thoughts on “Keeping My Chin Up

  1. foodtable

    Awe. I am not sure what brought this on, but I think sometimes one gets too hard on self. I think grass is always greener on the other side, so don’t compare yourself to other people. Most of the time, they (and their life/career/blah blah) aren’t all that. Also, the rat race is so overrated. Lol. And I hope you get to eat your fave stuff back home soon. Thanks for visiting my blog and ttyl. šŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. The Pleasure Monger Post author

      foodtable: yeah, pasture’s always greener on the other side, annoyingly green! thanks for your words of encouragement, two more weeks before we go back home for goodies, i think that’s good motivation for an always-hungry foodie.

      Z: thanks Z, hanging in there as much as I can!

      Reply
  2. Jasmine

    Hello there,

    Chanced on your journal a few days backšŸ™‚ It certainly isn’t easy to be a mature student. I have just returned to uni to do my PhD after 4 years at work, and am stunned to just see how everyone around me who is doing a Masters or PhD are all so young. Hang in there!

    Jas

    Reply
    1. The Pleasure Monger Post author

      Hi Jas, thanks for your encouragement, and glad I’m not alone! Where are you located and which PhD are you doing? I have colleagues in my lab who graduated with their PhD at age of 25!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

