Ode To Durians

The peak of the durian season ended right about two weeks before we returned to Singapore. My mum, knowing how much I’ve missed the smelly, thorny king of fruits, bought some unbelievably good ones and froze them into yellow pungent nuggets for me. A durian is rarely spotted here in London’s Chinatown, and even if we do see them, each costs at least £20. Crazzzyy. I’m not going to spend that much money on something that I can’t quite guarantee to be good. The experience of buying good durians seem to be very much dependent your relationship with your favourite fruit grocer. Mum happens to be very familiar with ours, so she managed to get some of the best I’ve had at decent prices. I don’t really trust durians that make it all the way here to London, so nah…even if I miss them, I’ve resisted the urge to splurge on any.

Anyway, the crazy-delish durians that sat in Mum’s freezer set off an unprecedented thirst for all things durian. I don’t normally love and crave durians all the time (in fact I hardly had them when I still lived in Singapore), but being away from home has turned me into some sort of a durian bloodhound. I wolfed down eight durian puffs from Four Seasons, thanks to my parents. For those who aren’t from Southeast Asia, these are cream puffs, only filled with durian-based filling instead of cream. The ones from Four Seasons are amazing, they’re filled with 100% D24 (one of the top-grades) durian.

Four Seasons Durian Puff

On another occasion, when out shopping at Orchard with my sister, I broke my ‘cannot-eat-too-much-before-dinner’ vow by having a durian pancake from Teng Yu at Far East Plaza (after a stupidly huge feast when I was touring the basement food area at ION). At S$1.50 a piece, I was happy to bear the calories of the thin and crispy pancake, freshly made to order and very generously lathered with pure D24 durian too.

Teng Yu Durian Pancake

Oh oh, and don’t forget the best durian mooncakes in town from Peony-Jade. Ahhhh, bliss.

If that isn’t enough, I also finished off our trip back to Singapore with one more amazing durian experience in the form of dessert somewhere, but I think I’ll leave that for another post because it completely, undeniably deserves airtime on its own.

There you go, my ode to durians, the bane of my existence waistline.

Check out my other food adventures!

Four Seasons Durians is located at:

302 Tiong Bahru Road, #B1-29, Singapore 168732

Teng Yu is located at:

14 Scotts Road, Far East Plaza, #01-16F, Singapore 228213

 

Leave a Reply

