A Tasty Piece of Home With Me


The Cookie Museum

Thanks to my sister-in-law and her boyfriend (M&I), I have a new favourite snack that I would like to bring back to London from Singapore, a snack that reminds me of home through and through. I might be slow in blogging about this, and everyone on the island has probably heard about it, but that isn’t going to stop me from singing praises about my personal favourite Tasty Piece of Home. And that is none other than the Hae Bee Hiam Cookies from The Cookie Museum.

For those of you who are not in the know, Hae Bee Hiam is the Hokkien dialect name for dried prawn sambal, a delicious, spicy and pungent condiment that Singaporean and Malaysian Chinese love. We usually throw it on all sorts of savoury dishes, and even eat it as a snack (wrapped in kind of a filo pastry) during Chinese New Year. The Cookie Museum has given a  new twist Hae Bee Hiam, and came up with the ingenious of incorporating it in cookies. Yes, cookies!

Now, we’re all very used to cookies being sweet. I was, admittedly, very skeptical when I heard about the Hae Bee Hiam cookies. But coming from M&I, who are foodies as much as I am, I knew this stuff had to be good for them to give it to us as a farewell present. So I went with my gut, ripped the pretty packaging off the minute I got into my London home and took a deep whiff. Ahhhhhh, this smells really mouthwatering. I took a bite, and oh gosh, it was so painful, because it was so good, so addictive, that I didn’t want to stop having another. There lies the contradiction of incredible demand and limited supply.

The cookie crumbles, actually it almost melts in the mouth, with a slight sweetness giving way to a true-blue Hae Bee Hiam kick. There is a slight hint of coconut, that marries the savouriness and sweetness perfectly. The verdict? I love it! I really, really do! If only the cookies are sold here, I wouldn’t miss the spices and smells of home as much.

Check out my other food adventures!

The Cookie Museum is located at:

Esplanade Mall, 8 Raffles Avenue, Unit 01-02/04, Singapore 039802

4 thoughts on “A Tasty Piece of Home With Me

  1. bookjunkie

    Gosh it sounds amazing! Thanks for introducing it to me. I must try it one day. It’s a good thing I’m in Singapore as I’m sure your photos and powers of description have enticed many bloggers out there.

    Reply
  2. Amy, Singapore

    Hi! I just made a batch of Hae Bee Hiam cookies which I adapted from an oatmeal cookie recipe. Very simple to make and they all disappeared the moment they were served! And you can kid yourself that the oatmeal in them is healthy for you! Haha!

    250gm butter, softened
    1/4 cup sugar
    1/2 tsp salt
    2 eggs
    2 cups self raising flour
    2 cups rolled oats / instant oats
    1 cup ‘Glory’ brand hae bee hiam (or home-made if you have any)

    1. Beat butter, sugar, salt and eggs till light and creamy
    2. Mix in flour, oats and hae bee hiam till just combined
    3. Drop heaped teaspoons full onto an ungreased cookie sheet
    4. Heat oven to 350F / 180C.
    5. Bake cookies for 14 – 15 mins, leave in tray to cool for 3 mins before transferring to wire rack to cool completely
    6. Enjoy!

    Reply
    1. The Pleasure Monger Post author

      Hi Amy, thank you for sharing this recipe with me, I’ll try it when i get my hands on hae bee hiam, or when I manage to make some myself! I’m feeling very peckish just thinking about the wonderful cookies that came out of your oven….

      Reply

Leave a Reply

