Goodbye Summer: Strawberry Swirl Cheesecake

As summer peaked in July, strawberries and cherries were everywhere, and so very plum! As my husband craved for cheesecake, it was a no-brainer for me to procure some strawberries from the grocer to make us some strawberry swirl cheesecake. It’s, after all, not everyday that the husband announces his longing for something sweet.

Strawberry Cheesecake

I haven’t made cheesecake in a while, because of its sheer richness and really, there are just two of us, sharing them between us would just teleport us straight to jelly belly hell. But I couldn’t resist. Creamy cheesecake, marbled with tart strawberry swirls, atop a plateau of buttery crumb. Mmmm. It’s not everyday that strawberries are so plentiful, and in season, and so very cheap. Besides, I thought it would be oodles of fun to make some, I haven’t ‘swirled’ any of my baked treats before, or anything for that matter. Oh imagine the excitement of watching two contrasting colours merge imperceptibly into one! Ok, maybe it’s just the baking psycho in me talking. I do apologise for my graphic display of affection for making pretty eats.

Strawberry Cheesecake

The result? I got exactly what I asked for. Creamy cheesecake, laced with tart strawberry swirls, atop buttery crumbs. This spells summer for me, and as the heat slips from London much too quickly, I write to cling on to whatever that is left.

Here’s the recipe:

Strawberry Swirl Cheesecake (adapted from The Hummingbird Bakery Cookbook)

To create the strawberry swirls:

150g strawberries, washed, stems removed
1 tablespoons caster sugar
1/2 tablespoon orange juice
1/2 tablespoon cornflour

1. Blitz all ingredients together into liquid (sort of a pulpy juice texture). Set aside or refrigerate for further use.

For the crumb base:

150g digestive biscuits, crushed into fine crumbs
50g unsalted butter, melted

1. Mix crushed biscuits and melted butter with a fork. Press into greased and lined 8-inch cake tin.

2. Bake for 7 minutes at 150 degrees Celsius. Set aside to cool completely.

For the cake filling:

500g full-fat cream cheese
100g caster sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla paste
2 medium eggs

1. Beat cheese and sugar together till smooth and creamy at low speed.

2. Add eggs one at a time, scraping to incorporate and beat to combine. Mix till smooth, do not overmix.

To assemble the cake:

1. Layer half of the cake filling on top of the crumb base.

2. Add 7 tablespoons of strawberry ‘juice’ in dollops as shown in the picture.

3. Repeat steps 1 and 2.  (There should be extra strawberry ‘juice’ left, you can make them into a beverage!)

4. Using a chopstick, swirl to mix the cake filling and strawberry ‘juice’.

5. Place cake tin in a deep tray, fill with water to 2/3 way up the cake tin, bake for 40 min or until golden brown and center remains slightly wobbly. Do not overbake. Cool slightly at room temperature and cover to chill in fridge before serving.

Enjoy!

Check out what I have been baking in my own kitchen.

Also check out my other food adventures.

*Updated: This post is featured on Photograzing. Check out my Photograzing profile to see my other featured posts!

12 thoughts on “Goodbye Summer: Strawberry Swirl Cheesecake

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Goodbye Summer: Strawberry Swirl Cheesecake « The Pleasure Monger -- Topsy.com

  2. Pingback: Cherry Cheesecake « The Accidental Weekend Chef

  3. brainybairn

    I used this recipe and it turned out great! Kudos to you in having a good eye and talent! It made 12 cupcake sized cheesecakes. But mine turned out ugly coz I tried to make it with cherries! The result was a perfect textured cheesecake though!

    Reply
  4. Ila

    Hi…I often make cheesecakes myself. I prefer the baked ones rather than non baked. But I often end up with cracking cheesecakes.How do u do yours?

    Reply
    1. The Pleasure Monger Post author

      Hi! Do you use a water bath to bake the cheesecake? That’s what I do. Cracking seems to suggest that the oven is too hot as well; I would suggest placing a piece of aluminium foil to act as a tent above your cake tin.

      Reply
  5. cheesecakelover

    Hi, I am planning to make this cheesecake this weekend for Valentines but I have never made cheesecake before and I have a question… when you say to place the cake tin in a deep tray and fill it with water..what do you mean exactly? do I put it like that in the oven? I don t have a deep tray, is it possible to just put the cake tin straight in the oven?
    Also, can I use normal flour instead of cornflour? Thank you very much!

    Reply
    1. The Pleasure Monger Post author

      Hello! Sorry for the late reply. Yes you put the cake in in a deep tray filled with water, and then pop that tray into the oven. You could put the cake tin straight into the oven but the cheesecake may not cook evenly.

      Normal flour has higher protein content than cornflour, so it’s best not to tweak that as it changes the structure of the cheesecake.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

