I Dream Of Macau

It was so stupidly cold today, that my toenails turned blue. Mind you, I was indoors.

It was so stupidly cold today, that I almost didn’t want to use the toilet, because the seat practically freezes over in winter. Too much information? I don’t care, because it’s regrettably true.

It was so stupidly cold today, that once I hopped into the bathroom to take a much-needed scalding shower, I panicked for a bit when I realised the worst thing that could happen was if my boiler stopped working mid-shower. So not funny, if that happened. And that, my dears, was when I slipped into a sexy daydream of warm soothing massages, hot, sweaty, pore-opening and mind-blowingly relaxing stews in the steam room……in Macau.

I was in the win-some-lose-a-lot city of Portuguese egg tarts about four months ago, not because we like to gamble, but because we needed a getaway to rest our minds, fill our bellies and enjoy a luxurious break without burning a hole in our pockets. The trip was excellent, it ticked all the right boxes; I was extremely relaxed, I ate till my clothes hurt me, and to my surprise, I also stumbled upon one of the most luxurious massages I’ve ever had in our hotel. More on the spa session later. What I would really like to talk about is the hotel we stayed in, which played a huge part in me giving four thumbs-up for the trip. I think this is a pretty good way to kick-start my haven’t-been-told adventures in Macau.

We pulled some strings and got ourselves the beautiful Premier Suite at Crown Towers (City of Dreams) at an unbelievably affordable price. The suite and the strings we pulled came with VIP perks. We checked in at a grand private concierge. We could consume anything we wanted from the pantry without paying for them. We were put in touch with private butler and limo services. Everything was very fine and dandy. I didn’t think that I would actually be treated so much better than when we parked our asses in the bridal suite during our wedding, but I was. So imagine my surprised after we walked down a long chic corridor, opened the door to our suite and saw the following.

The corridor leading to our suite

The first thing we saw when we opened the door

The living area

Peeking into the study and dining area from the living room


That’s the dining area and study, up-close

The bedroom

You can also peek out to the living area from the bedroom

The spacious bathroom with the best rain shower ever, his and hers sinks, and a separate toilet

The bathtub with an amazing view, the tub is big enough for two

And you know what really floored me? The view! This is the Venetian we’re looking at.

The stunning view at night, yes, from our room!

I love this picture because it reminds me of the view from the high-rollers suite filmed in 21. The background popped up and seemed so unreal from where I was standing in the room. I swore I spent ages with the lights switched off in the suite, just sitting by the floor-to-ceiling windows and admiring the view. How I miss the suite, all that space!! There was even a walk-in wardrobe!

To top it all off, we had pretty good breakfasts in the double-volume Crystal Lounge.

Awesome suite, great service, pretty darn good food, being on top of the world literally and feeling rather VIP-ish, Macau, you’re dearly missed! *SIGH*

Check out my other food and travel stories in Macau!

P/S: Crown Towers, one of the hotels at the City of Dreams, is located 10 minutes away from the international airport, but a cheap cab ride should take you across to town pretty easily.

 

9 thoughts on “I Dream Of Macau

  1. Pingback: The Best Steamboat « The Pleasure Monger

  2. Fidel Hart

    Check you out, living the suite life!
    Catching up on blogs since I was out to sea for a few days. Please send good vibes my way that North Korea doesn’t ruin my holiday vacation plans, nor the plans and lives of many in the region.

    Enjoy Macau! I want to go when I visit Hong Kong again.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: The Best Spa Ever! « The Pleasure Monger

Leave a Reply

