Bye, Singapore!

Monday is just round the corner and I’m sure most of us are approaching it with a little bit of a heavy heart. Some of us are going back to work after the holidays. Some of us are heading back to the books. And for M and I, it’s a little bit of both and more. If you’ve been reading my tweets or Facebook updates, you would have learnt that both of us are flying back to London tomorrow. I’m particularly emotional about this now as we have no plans to return to Singapore until 2012, and will only see family and friends if and when they visit. I’ll see mine in September when I (hopefully will) graduate. This will be the longest time that we will be away from home, home as in Singapore.

It is with mixed feelings that we return to London. We like our home over there as we have our own space, and we do everything as we please, as a team, as we wish, without obligations. I also miss my kitchen terribly and the confidence that comes with using everything that is my own. There are tonnes of things in London that we have yet to explore. M is fast approaching the end of his studies with every year we spend in London, and I will be embarking on a new phase of life when I begin my new job.  For these reasons, we know it is good to leave Singapore. But yet, we miss our families and friends, and we miss the convenience of everything here that is oh-so-familiar despite the changes that Singapore has gone through over the years. They say, there is nothing like home, and we both agree wholeheartedly. On the other hand, we know that we’re fortunate enough to be able to spend some time as a couple in a foreign land. We had and will continue to have opportunities to seek adventures that will not come into being, if we haven’t stepped out of Singapore. Confused, aren’t we? Or do we just have the best of both worlds?

Whatever it is, I’m stepping into my new year with as much optimism and enthusiasm as I could muster, what with the dreadful flight coming up. I’m sure I will feel a lot better once I unpack in London and get back into the groove of things. I always do. But for now, goodbyes aren’t easy. To all my friends, old and new, whom I have met over the holidays, it was great to catch up and I hope to see you peeps again. To my family, I will miss you all dearly. I hope all of you will have a wonderful start to the new year!

Bye, Singapore. Hello, London.

 

2 thoughts on “Bye, Singapore!

  1. Joy

    Enjoy your life in London! I can imagine that being based overseas brings about mixed feelings. It is definitely an exciting journey that offers independence and is liberating but I guess it can get terribly lonely at times, unless you have a pool of friends/ family members there to count on. Anyhow, think more of the positive aspects of it and at the very least, there is technology to keep you connected with your family and friends in Singapore. Take care!

    P.S.: that is a heartwarming photo of you and M!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

