A Big Hug for Jittery Me

It’s 11.17pm now and I’m feeling nervous about my first day at work tomorrow. I haven’t had that many first days in my life and I actually embraced some of them – I am pretty certain that kindergarten and primary school were a breeze. But first days get more difficult as I get older. Secondary school, junior college, university, work and then the first day at my university in London as the only Chinese in the department, those days were scary.

Right now, I’m sitting on the floor thinking…

Will my colleagues like me?

Will I like them?

Oh gosh, what if they hate me?  What if I hate them?

Can I cope with the job? Damn, this is too new and I don’t think I can.

What if I don’t like the job? What am I going to do?

Then, M catches wind of my unspoken worries, picks me up from the floor and gives me a big hug. He tells me that he will be by my side, no matter what.

I think I will be okay, won’t I?

 

25 thoughts on “A Big Hug for Jittery Me

  1. miss ene

    ** BIG FAT HUG **

    I understand how you feel, babe! I really hate being the “new girl” on the first day of work too and have the exact same feelings as you have.

    Hang in there – usually, we’re just being paranoid. Heh.

    Reply
  2. beidisg

    yes you’ll be alright dear, they’ll love you just like all of us did when we worked for Prof Urs, remember?🙂 wear a big smile when you go in for your first day!

    hug hug HUG🙂

    Reply
  3. Shirley

    Hugs from me too! You have come so far (read your previous post on your three years in London – it’s very inspirational) and I think you are ready to take on anything in life. Go and kick some more ass!

    Reply
  4. Kaho

    What a sweet ending. I used to get very nervous and didn’t do so well with the transitioning from elementary to junior high, from junior high to high school. I don’t know why, but I’m fine moving from one place to another every couple of years. I hope your first day of work went very well!

    Reply
    1. The Pleasure Monger Post author

      Kaho: I think the nerves ease with experience. I guess I’m getting better, trying to fit in when I’m onto something new, part of that ‘courage’ comes from the move to London which has taught me so many things. But still, it was so much easier when I was a kid!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

