Happy Birthday, Darling

I believe in birthday cakes. This blind faith bears an uncanny resemblance to how I used to fervently believe in paper-winged fairies and white-haired Santas, until I realised that Santa was Daddy leaving untidy wrong-handed scrawls on a giant box that hid the Barbie doll house my sister and I longed for. But unlike the Santa faith that went poof with age, I still believe in birthday cakes.

Before I moved to London, my family made an effort to celebrate our birthdays together. We are not good with expressing our love for one another, but we do so in subtle ways, with each birthday song heartily sung, one after the other, five times a year.  And no one ever, ever forgets to get a cake. Ever since I moved to UK, my family still keeps to the goofy tradition of breaking into the most cringe-worthy birthday chorus, but unfortunately, I haven’t been part of most of the celebrations for the past years, so yes, birthdays have been a little lonely and I feel bad that I can’t be there for my family. But this change of circumstance hasn’t taken away the special place that birthday cakes have in my heart; this is a tradition that my parents have endeavoured to keep in my family and I am determined to do so for ours.

I first made M a birthday cake when he turned 25. In fact, it was the first birthday cake that I had made for anyone. I was his girlfriend, we were together for almost two years, it was the first birthday he had spent in Singapore after living in London for a few years, and I wanted to make it special. He once told me that he loved the deep, dark and dense chocolate fondant cake from Ottolenghi, so I decided to make a dark chocolate yoghurt cake for him. I remember practising it twice. I brought the first cake to the lab I was working in and asked my colleagues for their opinions. The cake turned out a tad dry, I took notes and went home to make another. I even bought a new oven (a simple convectional one) that I lugged home on my own, all for his 25th. The cake was well-received, but on hindsight, I wonder if everyone was just being kind. Not that the taste mattered, because I remember M’s face when he saw the cake. It was a surprise, and he was surrounded by his family for the first time in years. He was absolutely delighted and I’ll never forget that.

This year, I decided to make M a birthday cake again. Well, actually I made two (recipes coming along in the next posts). For the first round of celebrations with his friends, I made a Japanese Cheesecake with Rose Whipped Cream Frosting. He had asked for a cheesecake, and I thought it would be nice to try the Japanese version, which is much lighter and so very delectable. True to my perfectionist self, I practised. I made one two weeks before the celebrations, tweaked the recipe and made the actual one the night before the party. The late nights paid off. I watched him smile as his friends semi-shouted multi-language renditions of the birthday song. When photos were being taken, we scrambled to take our positions next to the birthday boy as the candles threatened to go out. He was elated to be surrounded by good friends, and I was just happy to know that he was happy. Amidst polishing off the copious amounts of food, riotous singing (it was a karaoke-dinner party), enthusiastic clapping, he pulled me to a corner, looked me in the eye and whispered, ‘Thank you, dear. The cake is perfect and I love it.’. It made my heart melt. This is what birthday cakes do to me. They make me feel warm and fuzzy, happy and most importantly thankful that someone is somewhere celebrating it with that special someone. They make the loneliest person feel loved. That is how my parents love me, and this is how I want to show my love for M. Besides, who can resist a little bit of cream and sugar? =)

Happy Birthday, darling. I hope you had a lovely one and here’s to many more years of birthday cakes to come.

I have been working on a fundraising event on my blog for the earthquake and tsunami victims in Japan. You can visit this post here to find out more details. I’m pledging a USD100 Amazon gift card to one lucky donor who donates before 31 March 2011, so please, please dig deep and help! – Updated: We have a a winner, and we raised £1510!!

Check out what I have been baking in my own kitchen.

Also check out my other food adventures.

 

15 Responses to “Happy Birthday, Darling”


  1. 1 eliza keating March 28, 2011 at 10:45 pm

    Your cakes look so delicious..wish it was my birthday..Eliza Keating

  2. 2 miss ene March 29, 2011 at 3:40 am

    Awwww. That was a sweet sweet post and an even sweeter gesture. I’ve baked cakes but have never baked a cake for the boy. He, on the other hand, baked me a cake (!) with the help of a friend when we were still gf-bf. He drove all the way to my place and at midnight, called me on my phone and told me ‘come downstairs’. Ahhh, the memories.

  3. 3 Jeanne March 29, 2011 at 7:32 am

    Share the Japanese cheeseacke recipe please! I feel that people don’t really appreciate birthdays anymore. Most of the time, it’s just go out for a meal and be done with it, or just hit a club and get wasted. I miss those birthday parties we had when we were kids, bee hoon, fish ball, curry, agar agar and we played games and had fun. Lovely story!

  4. 4 yAnn March 29, 2011 at 8:30 am

    Oops…husband’s birthday is tomorrow and it err didn’t cross my mind to buy him a cake, let alone bake one! :P

    The cake looks ah-may-zing!

  5. 5 stardust March 29, 2011 at 1:39 pm

    gosh I wanna have bdays everyday looking at this!

  6. 6 bookjunkie March 29, 2011 at 2:58 pm

    Your cake looks divine :) Your hubby is one lucky guy. Both of you look perfect together.

  7. 7 karaimame March 29, 2011 at 7:50 pm

    Pretty cake! looks fabulous and delish!
    Happy Bday to your dear one ^__^ Wishing all the best, yummy and nice (= your companion :P )
    Eheh

  8. 8 Jolene March 30, 2011 at 1:15 am

    You’re such a sweet loving wifey! Awesome looking cake by the way and i bet it taste as good if not more. :)

  9. 9 Lawyer Loves Lunch March 30, 2011 at 2:25 am

    I believe in birthday cakes too! I can’t wait to see the next post with the next cake! :)

  10. 11 Z March 30, 2011 at 12:10 pm

    Your baking skills are unbelievable! Please teach me how to bake so I can make good use of my oven when I move. :)

  11. 12 asanche1 June 22, 2011 at 11:10 pm

    I love this cake! i made one that looked similar but not as good. :/


  1. 1 Japanese Cheesecake with Rose Whipped Cream « The Pleasure Monger Trackback on March 29, 2011 at 10:25 pm
  2. 2 Just Because… « The Pleasure Monger Trackback on May 16, 2011 at 11:17 pm

Leave a Reply

About The Author
Join Our Facebook Fan Page Follow Us On Twitter Follow Me on Pinterest
Read about my food-gasmic adventures in San Sebastian here! Also please come by and check out the prettiest cake I've made over here!
Macarons: Be Inspired
Dark Chocolate & Coconut Cookies
Rose & Lychee Chiffon Cake
Pan-seared scallops, jamon iberico chip, pomme puree, jamon iberico foam and chestnut
Red Velvet Cake
An English-themed Dessert Table
Chocolate & Hazelnut Salted Caramel Cake
Gula Melaka Salted Caramel Buttercream Macarons
The Ispahan Cake
The Ispahan
Sunflower Seed Macarons with Black Truffle Salted White Chocolate Ganache
Lemon Cupcakes with Lime & Ginger Whipped Cream
Portuguese Egg Tarts
Ba Zhang - Glutinous Rice Dumplings with Braised Pork Belly
The Fat Duck
Strawberry and Cream Pancakes
Pandan Souffle Roll with Toasted Coconut Whipped Cream
Red Velvet Cake
Lychee and Emperor's Seven Treasures tea-infused macarons
M's Spanish Paella
M's birthday cake - Japanese Cheesecake with Rose Whipped Cream
Lor Bak Gou - Fried Radish Cake
Pandan Chiffon Cake
Homemade Scones
Marmite & Coffee Pork Chops
Quick and Easy fried rice recipe!
Matcha & Adzuki Bean Macarons
Pumpkin & Chocolate Brownies with Cream Cheese Swirls
Matcha, Milo and Plain Polvorons
Kampar Chicken Biscuits - A popular Malaysian snack
White Chocolate & Cranberry Cookies
Hustling the Xiao Long Bao in my kitchen
Bailey's & Coffee Macarons

I Want To Know About

Said and Done

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 855 other followers

Seen and Heard

  • 962,997 hits

Copyright Notice

© Rachel Tan and The Pleasure Monger, 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of material on this blog without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Rachel Tan and The Pleasure Monger with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 855 other followers

