Coming of Age: I Laugh At My Own Expense

The sun was up (still is). The skies were impossibly clear and blue. I felt rested and really quite well after a harrowing week at work. I was due for a haircut, a shopping date with M, followed by a Taiwanese dinner with friends.

I put some effort into my dressing. Painted my face and even spritzed on some Jo Malone. I was Spring and I felt prett-ay darn good. Heck, the flowers were even peeking out to say hello as I skipped down the street from my place.

Then reality kicked in.

My hairdresser, bless her, found a strand of white hair as she was shearing my lion’s mane. She asked me if I would like her to get rid of it, I shrugged, and told her to go ahead. A few skillful and rapid snips later, she slowed down and I knew it. She found another. She apologised, as if it were her fault that I had white hair, and made me one strand younger. Another couple of snips later, she looked like she struck gold, and proceeded to do the deed without asking me. I was okay with it, but I was beginning to feel a little embarrassed. And then came the fourth. She held my lucky number four in her hand, with a triumphant smile on her face and declared that she couldn’t resist taking my white hairs down. In her words, ‘It feels good to keep going’.

After the hair-rowing experience, I hopped into M’s waiting car, and whilst fussing over my new do, I found a few more strands of my ghostly white friends. Pfffft. I was a little startled, and yet I couldn’t quite stifle my manic laughter. Let’s face it, I am getting older, and a few years ago, I would have shrieked at white hairs, but there I was, sitting in a car, being comfortable with looking older and finding the whole hairdresser thing funnier than it should be if I were a little younger.

The day went by too quickly and it was time for dinner. With our tummies filled and almost ready for bed, I bade the waitress and owner goodbye as we left. The waitress, exclaimed in as quiet a whisper as she could manage, ‘Are you pregnant?’, as she pointed to my tummy. She might as well half-shouted it across London because my friends heard it. I was, to say the least, mortified that she asked such a private question in front others. I exclaimed, in as quiet a whisper as I could manage, ‘No!’. I asked her why she would even think that, a little miffed that people could be so outwardly nosey about other people’s family planning business, and she hesitated, ‘Oh, because you are wearing the maxi-dress, and it’s loose, so……’. By the way, I was wearing this.

First, white hairs plucked and announced in front of a public audience, then a mistaken baby bump which was really just a rude jelly belly. I spent my waking hours yesterday night feeling a tad confused. It was easy to give in and be bothered by it. It was also equally easy to shrug it off. In fact, I was more amused by the fact that I was sitting on the fence. Then it hit me, I’m just on the cusp of really being comfortable with my appearance. I am coming of age.

So this morning, I accepted these facts and crossed over. I hit the gym (usually M drags me, kicking and screaming) and told myself I should really try to be healthy and fit even as I get older. If I were getting old, I want to age gracefully. If I were putting on weight, I should cut down on the junk I eat and endeavour to be more active.

As I worked out to Black Eyed Pea’s My Humps, the guy taunts, ‘What you goin’ to do with all that ass, all that ass inside them jeans’. Fergie teases, ‘I’m a make make make make you scream.’ And me? I say, ‘Errrrr, I’m going to lose it?’. Then I caught my red-faced reflection smiling back at me.

Yes, what a revelation.

16 thoughts on “Coming of Age: I Laugh At My Own Expense

  1. stardust

    Hi Rachel,

    heh heh is that why your photo is only from your face downwards sans hair?😀 A few white strands is ok…my students point out mine to me and I tell them it’s thanks to them…call it ageing gracefully🙂

    btw your bag is very nice, what brand is it or is it locally done? Very nice colour :))

    Reply
    1. The Pleasure Monger Post author

      stardust: I felt that the outfit was more important than my face…lol. And my hair was in a mess because i was on the way out to get a haircut! My bag is brandless, I bought it from a blogshop (can’t rem who…), and yes I love that colour!

      Reply
  2. wl

    aha, been noticing alot of white hair on my head of late too… which has been rather alarming to say the least. time to learn to be comfortable with looking older as well !

    Reply
  3. miss ene

    Darling, I shrieked when I had my first strand of white hair but now, I have so many that I gave up being fazed out. In fact, the boy sits me down on the closed toilet bowl and tweezes them out for me one by one. I find it so sweet🙂 Also, I’ve been told by my hair stylist that one should not pull ’em out and to instead, cut then, but I can’t help it. At the rate I’m going, I’d be bald in no time.

    Reply
    1. The Pleasure Monger Post author

      miss ene: I did get white hair ages ago, but to have it plucked in public and announced so openly….oh gosh, she might as well have told everyone my age hahaha. That’s very sweet of J! I still keep the plucking in my own hands though, I get a kick out of hunting them down and taking them out!

      Reply
  4. Jolene

    I have a couple of whites as well and they seemed to always grow back when I plucked them.. too annoying! But i’ve come to terms and made peach with it and let it be.. As one would say, age gracefully..🙂

    Reply
    1. The Pleasure Monger Post author

      yAnn: Totally, bought a bottle a few years ago, but I don’t know if I should swear off hair dye and go au naturel….been thinking that maybe I shouldn’t be dyeing my hair anymore

      Reply
  5. foodtable

    Great post! People are so nosey, I agree. Anyway, I think your advice about aging gracefully is awesome and so is the cutting down on junk and working out more. I need to do that, too. Lovely dress by the way-

    Reply

Leave a Reply

