Just Because…

…I LOVE this picture. If you think it looks delicious, that’s because it is. M made this for his darling wife (that would be moi) as part of his birthday celebration line-up earlier this year.

I had planned to make a diner-style dinner for M after baking his birthday cake. It seems to be a routine now, for M to request homecooked birthday meals. Last year, it was curry chicken and fried bee hoon. As a result, I learn to make something new from M’s requests every year. This year was a little different though; I did manage to make a Japanese Cheesecake with Rose Whipped Cream for his birthday party with friends, and a Red Velvet Cake for his actual birthday celebration at home, but I didn’t quite get to the diner-style dinner because I felt absolutely nauseous after trying to frost the Red Velvet Cake. The poor birthday boy had to take over in the kitchen while I rested my cold, clammy head on the couch.

M put his heart into it and made incredibly juicy and flavoursome patties out of beef, pork and sausage meat. He even made shoestring onion rings, which were crusted in a sweet, crisp batter that had some semolina flour in it. Throw in a couple of fresh sweet tomatoes, gherkins for a bit of a kick and melted manchego cheese, I’d say the burgers M made me feel like one very lucky woman.

It’s 11.15pm now, all this talk about burgers and onion rings is making me ferociously hungry. Can someone make me a homemade burger now, pretty please?

Check out what’s cooking in my kitchen!

Also check out my other food adventures.

10 thoughts on “Just Because…

  1. Jolene

    Ohh lala! You’ve got a personal culinary chef of a husband there you lucky thing! And they indeed look scrumptious! Nothing beats a hearty yummy homecooked meal made with an extra ingredient called love. :)

  2. blisschic

    that looks very delicious and mouth-watering! he even done up the presentation for the food! my bf and i always love a good burger and that looks yummy for us to get hungry staring at it. lol.

    1. The Pleasure Monger Post author

      blisschic: Thank you! I was amused when he rummaged our drawers for sticks, so he could skewer the burger! M’s been very good at plating up food for me to photograph, I think he understands me very well!


Leave a Reply

