Florence Eats: Best Truffle Pasta at Osteria del Cinghiale Bianco

201301 Florence Osteria del Cinghiale Bianco

The world ends today*. I’m looking for the best dishes to tuck into before I croak. What do I go for?

Definitely the taglierini al tartufo (taglierini with fresh truffle) from the kitchens of Osteria del Cinghiale Bianco. It was so good, that we replicated this dish at home. Seductively heady and nutty, I couldn’t stop gushing over this rendition, much to the amusement of diners at the next table.

The pappardelle al cinghiale (wild boar ragu) comes a close second. I am not really into game, but this was smokey and very flavoursome, without being nauseatingly pungent (a smell that I have come to associate with game). The silky ribbons of pappardelle were the perfect accompaniment to the chunky wild boar sauce.

I’m a pasta aficionado, so I would do away with the roast meats and so-so desserts at Osteria del Cinghiale Bianco, and hit the streets for some good ol’ gelato!

*No, the world isn’t really going to end today….well, I wouldn’t know, would I?!

Check out our trip to Pisa and other adventures in Florence!

Osteria del Cinghiale Bianco is located at:

Borgo San Jacopo, 62r
50125 Firenze, Italia

Leave a Reply

