What The Man Wants, The Man Gets

201304 M's Red Velvet Cake 1

201304 M's Red Velvet Cake 2

201304 M's Red Velvet Cake 3

201304 M's Red Velvet Cake 4

‘Red Velvet, please. And I want it tall.’

My husband, M, certainly wasn’t standing on ceremony when I asked him what cake he would like for his birthday.

Well, I love him very much, so much so that I attempted to bake my very first four-layer cake which weighed at least five kilograms when it was finally dressed in a decadent, slightly tart cream cheese frosting.

It took two days of back-breaking work to create this, the most professionally-finished cake that I’ve ever made, even if it didn’t look like it hit the gold standards of established bakeries out there. What mattered most was M loved it. He declared it my best act, and that was well-worth the effort.

Happy Birthday, love!

Check out what I have been baking in my own kitchen.

Also check out my other food adventures.

12 thoughts on “What The Man Wants, The Man Gets

    1. The Pleasure Monger Post author

      Thanks! Just use a more decorative tip and use the petal technique. Basically, pipe dots vertically, then smear with a palette knife, then pipe another column of dots on the smeared end, and repeat!

      Reply
  1. Jamie Soh

    Now I’m jealous of your hubby! Would you open orders for this amazing looking thang? I’m obessed with everything red velvet!

    Reply
  2. Lucy L

    STUNNING cake! I would totally buy that if I saw it in a shop. Your baking is excellent, be confident! =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

