Balls…BALLS?!

We were lounging around in the living room, watching Heston Blumenthal work his magic on some very delightful feasts on the telly. Fans of Heston would know his penchant for creating dining experiences that are out of this world. In this particular episode, he demonstrated the creation of the meatfruit, a meat-based dish made to look like a fruit, something which I thoroughly enjoyed during M’s birthday celebration at Heston’s restaurant in London, Dinner.

Heston (on telly): To make a meatfruit, we are going to use…THIS. *holds up a bull’s neatly severed testicle whilst looking supremely smug* I am going to use a bull’s plum to make a plum.

He proceeded to squeeze the living daylights out of the testicle, and emptied its contents into a bowl of whatever.

Me: Whutttt…?! Did he just…? *mind overworking at this point, hoping that the bowl of whatever was meant to be tossed into the bin, not for consumption*

Heston mashed up the bits (pun so very intended) in the bowl and started fashioning a rather realistic-looking plum out of it.

Me (hysterical): OH-EM-GEE OH-EM-GEE, YOU MEAN I ATE BALLS AT HIS RESTAURANT? YOU MEAN I ATE BALLS?! *whimpers* But it was so good…YOU MEAN I ATE BALLS?!

M (stifling his maniacal laughter): Yah you did!

Me (all dramatic whilst pulling my hair and dragging my hands down my face): NONONONO. It can’t be! I am pretty sure it was chicken liver parfait that was stuffed inside the meatfruit. NOT BALLS! It can’t be balls…right??? WHAT THE…..

M was shaking violently with stifled laughter at this point and I was pretty traumatised.

Heston then held up a meatfruit that looks like a mandarin, just like the one I ate at Dinner, and promptly announced that it was made of chicken liver parfait.

Me (total outburst): SEEEEEEEEE!!! I TOLD YOU IT WAS CHICKEN LIVER PARFAIT! *slaps M on his back repeatedly, who was still shaking with laughter*

Moral of the story for me: It wasn’t balls that I ate.

Moral of the story for M: Please don’t mess with my head again. It was very traumatising.

Moral of the story for you: Marvel at the number of times I mentioned ‘balls’.

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Balls…BALLS?!

Leave a Reply

