Babies Hate Car Seats. Period.

We are here again, you know, at that dreaded car-seat-loathing phase. It lasted 18 months for F, and part of the reason why it took so long was probably because we didn’t head out as frequently as I do with the kids now.

I was a pretty noob driver then, even though I received my license in 2000. I didn’t dare to drive until I was forced to do school runs with F when she started pre-school at 19 months old. School runs were pretty well-oiled after months of ‘practice’ (more like on-the-job training, really); but E comes along with us now, so it’s two hours of commute (read: screamfest) everyday and man, am I stressed!

(As if there isn’t enough stress trying to get all three of us fed, bathed and out the door by 8.30am. And E has to take one nap before that. Pfffft.)

I have tried everything from playing different kinds of music, to blasting the air-conditioning, to white noise, to dangling toys from the backseat mirror I installed, to freeing his hands from mittens so he can self-soothe, to beat-boxing. YES, BEAT-BOXING. Nothing works. The minute I hoist E out of the sling, he knows it’s car seat time and screams at the top of his lungs as I secure him in the car seat. Then, it’s twenty-five minutes of a million decibels going at my ears as I try to pacify him with my voice and I struggle to hear what F is trying to tell me over the wails. I hastily park my car just so I can rescue him and pop him back into the sling for 5 minutes of comfort, and then it’s another twenty-five minutes of watching a positively livid eggplant scream whenever I get the opportunity. My poor mother’s heart.

Some things just don’t change and I am not sure how long it will take for E to get used to the car seat….

BETTER SOONER THAN LATER.

Hands up, those of you who face this much too often like I do. (BIG HUGS TO YOU)

2 thoughts on “Babies Hate Car Seats. Period.

  1. The Honey Marquise

    They just have to get used to it. Tell them to suck it up and accept it as part of car safety. I tell my boys that quite literally when they were just a few weeks’ old.. After a couple of weeks, they couldn’t be bothered to cry.

    Reply
  2. Selena

    My eldest kid had major car seat issues. We’ve ever fought for 45min just to get him in! Most fights usually end with me just stuffing him in, screaming all the way home. My youngest went through a period of car seat aversion as well. Realizing nothing works, I would lower the windows so that the screaming is less painful on the ear, and then just zone out and drive. She’s buckled, lets just get home quickly! Strangely sometimes when the windows were down, she’d calm down a little bit. Sometimes. Hope the phase passes quickly!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

