The Things Faith Says #7: On Girly Things

At 3 years and almost 8 months old, Faith has taken a very keen interest in my belongings. Makeup (lipstick, which she refers to as lip balm, in particular), shoes, imaginary bags (I don’t carry any except for a burly knapsack for diapering purposes).

She likes to watch me put on makeup when we head out on Sundays, always wondering out loud why I do that then, and not on other days.

“Mama, why are you putting on makeup? Where are your spectacles?”

And, she would rush to rummage through her handbag for a natural lip balm that I have given her, before smearing her lips with it. I would remind her not to do that, and to only apply the lip balm once around her lips.

“Mama, one time only. One time, okay?”

She has also, somehow, staked a claim to my belongings.

“Mama, when I grow up, when I am a big girl, you share with me, okay? You share your shoes with me, okay? You must also share your lip balm with me. Mmm, okay, GOOD.”

Most days, she would be so used to me looking like I needed some severe grooming, that she would go, “Mama, I want you to wear spectacles. And I want your hair up, not down (referring to how I wear my fringe up with a hairband and tie the rest up in a ponytail).”

Man. Can she stop growing up so quickly?

 

Leave a Reply

