Prison Break 

4.20am

I woke up to Ethan’s soft cries and thought he needed to nurse again. After all, he has been waking up in the middle of the night for the past two weeks, and I thought this was just like any other night.

As I approached his room and groped for the handle to the door, I was puzzled by the amplitude of his cries.

Why does he sound so loud when his cries sound so muffled on the monitor? He sounds like he is…just behind the door?! But it can’t be, right…?!

I opened the door gingerly and peeped. Wasn’t sure why I did that because I did tell myself that I was just sleep-deprived and that I was just thinking too much. And lo and behold, two very large, round eyes that were brimming with tears were staring back at me in complete darkness.

OMFG HE GOT OUT OF THE COT AND HE *IS* BEHIND THE DOOR!!!!

!!!!

!!!!!!!!!!!!

I yelled for M because I couldn’t contain that leaping (in a bad way) heart of mine. How in the world….how did he…he is only 16 months old…but the base is pretty low on the cot…Faith never did…he can’t even walk consistently yet…it’s pitch-black in here with the black-out blinds and drapes…how did he…OMG MY SON PRISON BREAK LEH WHAT THE!!!

M was in disbelief, and he semi-shouted, “Is he hurt? Is his head okay? CHECK HIM NAO.” Then he ran outside with the torch he grabbed from E’s room and came running back after a few seconds, muttering that we have to lower the cot first thing in the morning. (M clarified that he went out of the room because he thought there might be an off-chance that someone broke into our home and wanted to kidnap E, and because E cried, the badass left him sitting behind the door. Say whutt?!)

F, who was sleeping in our bed, stumbled into E’s room, rubbed her eyes and was utterly confused, “What happened to didi?”

I wish I knew what happened!

Needless to say, I slept with one eye open after I put E back to bed. I Googled a million videos of babies doing the great escape and couldn’t believe that my baby, the one with the manja longan eyes, is as fearless as these Youtube babies.

So. We lowered the cot to the bottommost rung, even though it was already on the second lowest adjustment. We plonked the very large playmat right under. We removed all dangerous objects, even knobs on drawers, drilled the chest to the wall, and hung up all loose blind and curtain cords, waaaaay out of (even my) reach. The sockets are all sealed, wires all kept, and we are going to monitor E’s bedtime shenanigans for a while. He is still too young to be transited to a floor mattress, so let’s hope these changes contain him until he is ready to sleep in a big boy’s bed like his sister did at 29 months.
Doodle courtesy of Gong Gong, who calls him Ninja Kid. 

Leave a Reply

