Cloversoft: Helping Us Save Trees and Polar Bears One Wipe at a Time

I have been looking to replace our household and personal grooming products with more sustainable, eco-friendly, non-toxic, yet equally (if not, more) effective options, and sometimes, it is an uphill, not to mention expensive, task. I wouldn’t go as far as to say that we are completely green now, because we still use a fair amount of disposables and are unable to see ourselves doing without them given our needs; we are a busy household with two young children and I do lots of heavy cooking and baking.

It is therefore good news all around when I learnt that we can now get hold of sustainable disposables at competitive prices from Cloversoft. We go through a lot of baby wipes, tissue, toilet paper and paper towels in our home because of the kids and all that cooking/baking. We also go through a lot of water and I am ashamed to say that our water bills are still a little higher than that of our neighbours, even though we have made conscious attempts to cut our usage down. With Cloversoft products in my arsenal, we can reduce our usage of unsustainable, toxic yuckies, and that of water, and I have to say that I am very pleased!

What’s the difference between Cloversoft products and counterparts on the market?

The wipes, tissue, toilet rolls, kitchen & hand towels, multipurpose cloth from Cloversoft are made from 100% unbleached bamboo, NOT from trees! Counterparts on the market are made from plastic (wipes) and trees (all others), and they are bleached; these spell trouble for our skin and environment. Bamboo is a more sustainable option that constitutes less carbon footprint, and it has natural anti-bacterial properties (that also means there’s no need to use pesticides in growing bamboo). Cloversoft products are also very competitively priced, and it makes perfect sense to switch to them if you haven’t already done so. Cloversoft also donates part of the proceeds to Polar Bear International, to save our beloved polar bears, one at a time.

“MAKING IT POSSIBLE FOR YOU TO SAVE AT LEAST 10,000 TREES AND A POLAR BEAR IN YOUR LIFETIME.” – Alps Group

  1. Organic Baby Wipes Extra Moisturising (70 sheets per pack) I first purchased these wipes by the carton and was sold on my first use. Each sheet is extra thick, large, and one goes a long way in cleaning whatever mess, as compared to me having to use 3-4 wipes from another brand. The wipes are very gentle on the children’s skin, and that’s saying something as my firstborn has very sensitive skin. I use them at mealtimes, potty times, everything, and I can’t live without them. These wipes are free of alcohol, chlorine (unbleached), phthalates, paraben, phenoxyethanol and formaldehyde, and are unscented and non-toxic. I love them so much that I purchased another carton again when we ran out, and bought the travel-pack anti-bacterial version for when we are out and about.
  2. Organic Anti-Bacterial Wipes (40 sheets per pack) These are so incredibly useful for when we are out and about, as we want portable packs that can help us clean out 99.9% of bacteria when we don’t have access to soap and water. I brought these to Bangkok when we were there for a holiday recently because I wanted these to go into our diaper bag, so we didn’t have to lug the 70-sheet-packs out of the hotel. I didn’t even finish using one pack of this in the four days we were in Bangkok because each sheet is extra thick and large, and was so efficient at wiping dirty surfaces and hands down. These are free of nasties as well and are very gentle on the skin.
  3. Unbleached Bamboo Facial Tissue (2 Ply, 150 sheets per pack) I have also switched out all the paper tissues in our home for bamboo tissues, and they are as strong, absorbent and are suitable for sensitive skin.
  4. Unbleached Bamboo Travel Tissue (2 Ply, 50 sheets per pack) These are travel packs and needless to say, they lighten our loads for when we are out!
  5. Premium Bamboo Kitchen & Hand Towels (160 sheets per pack) I go through A LOT of paper towel rolls because I cook and bake a lot and I need to be very hygienic in my preparations. I even dry my hands on them instead of hand-drying cloths because I want to move on quickly to the next step (especially important in cake decorating) and be 100% clean when preparing food. These are absorbent, strong, and do a fantastic job, and they are made from bamboo, so I feel much better about using disposables when I know that hygiene cannot be compromised.
  6. 100% Unbleached Bamboo Cloth Multipurpose Wipes (52 sheets per roll) Now, this is MAGIC! It acts as an oil sponge that can be reusable for up to 20 washes. I don’t know how it works but it effectively removes grease when it is wet. No detergent is required, all one has to do is to wet a sheet and wipe down greasy pans, surfaces, etc, rinse it quickly (and very easily) under water (all the grease just slips right off the wipe and the sheet can be re-used)! The sheet remains intact with high tensile strength and does not break off like regular paper towels when they are wet. I find that this helps me save so much water and detergent. Previously, I was stuck between using plenty of paper towels and gallons of running water and dishwashing liquid to remove cake batter or food grease from my mixing bowls, pans, etc. Using these wipes to remove food debris prior to a wash has helped me save so much water and disposables, and I am very pleased with that! Just check out the photos below and see how clean the wipe is after rinsing the batter off very briefly under running water.

Clean sheet ready to be used

Cookie batter residue largely removed with one wipe and the sheet is loaded with grease

After second wipe and second rinse, the grease just slips off the sheet and the sheet can be reused!

I have had a very good experience using these products and will continue purchasing them. I strongly encourage you to make the switch to using Cloversoft, it’s really a no-brainer because the products competitively priced, as effective (if not more), and they represent a means through which one can help to save the environment (less deforestation, less chemicals washed into the oceans, less toxicity to all lifeforms) and polar bears, and to reduce the exposure of our families to nasties. In short, you do more with the same amount spent. You also get free delivery within Singapore for orders above SGD40, so it’s a win-win all around!

*I was given some Cloversoft products and purchased the majority of them. All opinions expressed are entirely my own and no other monetary compensation was received.

Leave a Reply

